Change to AT&T

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jor, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. jor
    Offline

    jor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an original Droid which I got when they were first sold by Verizon. Is it possible to use this phone with an AT&T account? Thanks.
    jor
     
  2. cpjr
    Offline

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. Verizon is CDMA, ATT is GSM. Totally different.
     
  3. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is no SIM card so no it will not work on AT&T (GSM v. CDMA)
     
  4. jor
    Offline

    jor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info. I'm trying desperately to lower my cell phone bill. I have a Droid which I use very little - just a few calls, a few texts and an occasional internet access. I really just need a phone that does texting. Same with my wife. Right now our bill is $140 but our usage is really low. I find the Verizon site pretty confusing. We also have an iPad and do some RVing. Anyhow, I'll figure it out. Thanks.
    jor
     
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Take a look at this: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-news/95195-new-unlimited-plan-big-red.html

    Give them a call and see if you can save some money.
     
  6. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe you can change your data plan from the 29.99/mo unl. to ~$15/mo for 250mb or something around there and then additional charges for every mB over that.

    It might save you money initially but if you have an overage it's gonna hit you hard, it think it's somewhere around 1.99 per mB once you go over, it's absolutely insane.

    Another option it you can always get a regular phone and just keep the Droid for use on wifi.
     
  7. jor
    Offline

    jor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to you both. I'm looking into the 250 meg deal. Matter of fact, I'm trying now to figure what my average use would be. What's this on keeping the droid as a wifi? Would that mean I wouldn't have to have a data plan? Guess I better stop by the Verizon store to get this figured out. I was thinking about just giving the Droid to my daughter. Thanks.
    jor
     
  8. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    the Droid should work just fine on wifi (of course no calls or texts tho)


    however, once you are out of wifi range, you are limited to whats already on the phone
     
  9. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    as dank stated, the phone (ie browser, market, any online games or apps) will work when connected to wi-fi.
    You can always set up Google Voice to make calls and/or texts over the internet :) (read carefully however as you can incur charges)

    ... and you can't get rid of the data plan completely and still keep ANY smartphone on VZW activated. At the very minimum you have to have the 250mb plan.
     
  10. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    I believe it's a 150 mb plan for $15. (Unless they changed this and I missed it, which is possible.) If you could finagle an upgrade for you and your wife's lines, I wonder if they'd let you drop down to a feature phone. They're always giving those things away for free.
     
  11. plasma510
    Offline

    plasma510 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No but you can use it on sprint
    Verizon-CDMA
    Sprint-CDMA
    T-mobile-GSM
    ATT-GSM
     
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Correct! $15 for 150mb. Be careful as just one KB over that will charge you another $15 for another 150MB and so on. AT&T gives you 200MB for $15 and 2GB for $25 with overage rates identical to ours (VZW). Is sacrificing coverage really worth $10 a month?
    The better question would be, where do you work? You may qualify for an ECPD (work discount). I'll be back at work tomorrow and can PM you the profile id and discounts.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  13. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0



    i dont believe a droid phone was ever flashed to another carrier.... and it would be more of a hassle than what its worth
     
  14. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Plenty of them flashed to Cricket......
     
  15. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    Damn you beat me to it. ;)

    Verizon just charges you for another 150Mb every time you go over so if you use 309Mb you get charged $45.

    I think you can flash the droid to MetroPCS as well.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
can a verizon droid x2 be flashed to att
,
can i changea motorola droid from verizon to att
,
droid x2 att
,
droid x2 flashed to at&t
,

flash droid x to at&t

,
flash droid x verizon to att
,
flash verison droid x to at&t
,
how to change droid x2 to at&t
,
how to flash droid x to at&t
,
verizon droid x2 att