Change Kernal on ICS DROID RAZR MAXX

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by Sktlez, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. Sktlez
    Offline

    Sktlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently running ICS .211 OTA 4.0.4, and I am rooted using matt's utility 1.7. I want to change the kernal so that I can overclock my phone. Is their a way for me to do this without using a custom Rom?

    If I cannot do it without using a custom rom can someone point me in the right direction on which rom I should use, and the best way to install it/accomplish this goal. I have never used a custom rom/kernal or safestrap/bootstrap.

    NOTE: I have an android razr maxx.
  2. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Locked bootloader!

    ----posted MAXXED OUT WITH dessert----
  3. Sktlez
    Offline

    Sktlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Utterly pointless post fyi.

    I'm guessing that means I cannot change the kernel? would be nice if you would take the time to write out more than two words.
  4. cobravnm13
    Offline

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    The Razr/Maxx, along with almost every Motorola phone, has a locked bootloader meaning that there is no way for us to change the kernel. They claim it is for security purposes. We claim BS. Even if you flash a custom ROM, there is no way to change the kernel.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
  5. Sktlez
    Offline

    Sktlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So how do I go about overclocking my phones cpu and possibly the gpu?
  6. cobravnm13
    Offline

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    SOME custom ROMs run a script, like a command in the software, to overclock. It doesn't change the kernel. You would have to ask a developer for the Razr about the script.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
  7. rotordroid
    Offline

    rotordroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    I believe Matt's Utility has an overclock option.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
  8. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Not so sure the new version has OC'ing...

    But then again I ask myself, why overclock a RAZR??

    ----posted MAXXED OUT WITH dessert----
  9. 210droid
    Offline

    210droid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    210
    can't change
    two words
  10. rotordroid
    Offline

    rotordroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    True enough, it's plenty fast and there are other options for preserving battery.
Search tags for this page

droid razr ics kernel

,
droid razr kernel switch
,

droid razr maxx kernel

,
how to change a kernel reviews on droid maxx
,
ics rom razr maxx
,
kernel ics razr
,
kernel razr
,

kernel razr maxx

,
overclock kernel for ics razr
,
razr maxx overclock stick to kernel
,
razr+hd+ics kernel
,
root droid razr maxx kernel