Change default browser

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by strutter769, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. strutter769
    Offline

    strutter769 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I do that? Which is the best/most used?
     
  2. FoxKat
    Online

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,034
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,643
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Can I get a little help here? :biggrin:
     
  3. EmericanX
    Offline

    EmericanX Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Prince George, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install a second browser. When you click link say from an email where it would open the browser you will then have a window ask you which browser to use with the option to set as default. Which is best is stricktly user opinion.

    Chrome if you're on ics
    Firefox and dolphin are good for gb..

    Sent from my full_spyder using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. lovemyram4x4
    Offline

    lovemyram4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Go to manage apps & open current default browser then tap clear default. To set a new default tap on something that will need a browser (URL links), when you get the pop up check set default then tap on browser app you want to set as default. At least this is how it works on other apps.

    As for what's best, well that all depends on personal preference & needs.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Forum Runner
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. thebeeobee
    Offline

    thebeeobee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Loving Dolphin HD for the evernote add on and a few other features.
     
  6. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    For setting a default browser, what lovemyram4x4 said. As for "best" browser, I prefer Dolphin HD for all the cool add ons it offers.
     
  7. strutter769
    Offline

    strutter769 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone. I went with Dolphin HD. Seems to do everything I want.
     
  8. TheAlpha1550
    Online

    TheAlpha1550 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a great browser

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
     
  9. vera_w
    Offline

    vera_w Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i like dolphin browser HD and it's easy to set it as default browser.
    all you have to do is go down its Settings>Set as Default Browser>ON>Make Dolphin my default browser>check Use by default for this action>Dolphin Browser HD.
    And there you go. :)
     
  10. extazia
    Offline

    extazia New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANK YOU! Awesome...

    Thanks so much! Simple, clear, concise, correct! I need simple! Not even sure I'm doing this right. I :heart: my Droid Incredible 4G LTE by HTC, ice cream sandwich, yum
     
  11. st0rme30
    Offline

    st0rme30 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    help me change default browser?

    Hi. I was reading your advice on hOw to change my default browser and quick question. You suggest going to manage apps and opening current default browser....hOw do I get to manage apps on my S3? I know I know, pretty useless with this stuff!
    Thanks!!!
     
Search tags for this page
android ics set default browser
,
change default browser android
,
change default browser droid razr
,
change default browser droid razr maxx
,
galaxy s3 change default browser
,
how to change default browser on droid razr
,
how to change default browser on galaxy s3
,
how to set default browser on droid razr
,

set default browser android ics

,
set default browser galaxy s3