Cell Standby

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by FSRBIKER, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know why this gets turned on? I was running UD10 with a P3 .9LV kernel and my phone was running cooler than ever, switched to P3's 1.0LV kernel to possibly help my internet closing problem....which it did but was running a bit warmer so I switched back to the .9 kernel. Now it was running warm as well and the battery useage showed more than a third by cell standby! Searched around this site and someone said to put the Droid in Airplane mode for 30 seconds and that fixes it, which it did...almost instant 10 degree drop in temp. Problem is that it was mentioned I need to go to Airplane mode anytime I reboot.

    Is there anyway around this now?
     
  2. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Have you noticed what your battery life is like? I have read and experienced (on my ROM below) that the "Cell Standby" being on the top of your list is just a visual 'glitch' and doesn't really have any effect on battery life or temps.
     
  3. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine was doing it also but i switched theme and its back to 4 % now
     
  4. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    my battery was lasting 6-8 hours thats it i already went 19 hours without a charge and i still has 22 % left yet im it says 20 on top and 22 in battery left widget
     
  5. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I usually plug my Droid in most of the day since I am at my desk, seems pretty good though maybe a bit faster of a drop then older BD ROM's. Without a doubt it is doing something since I noticed the temp increase and then drop as soon as I did the airplane mod.
     
  6. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Theme or ROM? And which one was causing your issues?
     
  7. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just switched themes amd it was fixed
     
  8. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think my issue was with the smoked notifications widow I added through MM with UD10. I switched to Cyano 5.06.1 with Bills Black Ice theme and its happening again...very frustrating.
     
  9. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    @ FSRBIKER: Well, since you keep your phone on the charger alot it's kind of hard to say if it's actually affecting your battery life. Also, changing ROMs often is also going to make it hard to accurately judge your actual battery life as I have found that the backup and flash process itself can kill as much as 20% right there.

    So, as I said, I'm running the ROM below with the Dark SE 24k theme and am getting almost 36 hours off charger with moderate use no matter what percentage my cell standby is showing.
     
  10. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    Has anyone else noticed that if you're on wifi sometimes you see white lines on the 3g/4g area (which means to me they are not active) and sometimes you see blue (meaning it's sucking battery even with wifi)?

    I find that when I'm on wifi which is 90% of the time I get way more battery when they are white.

    How can I get them white? I have not found a way. Seems random.
     
  11. scdown

    scdown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Ratings:
    +5
    I sometimes see this when I am on Wifi but have a low signal, and when it happens, either network is practically unusable. When it happens, I can sometimes fix with the airplane mode toggle.
     
  12. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I don't want both wifi and 4g on. I would prefer 4g be whited out - that saves cell standby battery which is the biggest drain they have.
     
  13. jhom

    jhom Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +26
    I posted on this issue a week or so ago. No one seem to have an answer. So, I called Verizon and spoke with tech support. The tech was using a Bionic as his phone. The answer I got from him was that when wifi is on, 4g is off no matter what color the indicator shows. As to whether there is more battery use when it is white or blue, he did not know. But, he reiterated that 4g is off when wifi is on. I told him that having the 4g indicator on while wifi is on, regardless of the color, is somewhat misleading. His answer was that the indicator is to show that there is 4g available.
     
  14. scdown

    scdown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Ratings:
    +5
    I hear that - it just seems that sometimes when the Wifi signal goes low, I have both connections - I agree that it shouldn't have 4G on when Wifi is active.

    Now, on the other hand (i have five fingers), I always thought that if the 4G logo was visible, the radio was on, even if it was using the Wifi connection. I read somewhere that the blue coloring on the signal strength indicated that this was the connection on which a connection to Google servers had been made?
     
  15. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    It makes no sense that it would be blue. When it's white then I could say yeah it's saying available but it's off.
     
Search tags for this page

how to stop cell standby