Cell standby usage

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kunak83, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. kunak83
    Offline

    kunak83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the battery details screen under cell standby, is anyone displaying "time without signal"? Is this normal?
  2. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    I dont have a droid jet, but sounds like this is the time when ur :droid: has no Cell-Tower.
    This increases battery usage normaly, cuz smartphones try to increase radio to find cell towers....

    Hope that helped!
  3. kunak83
    Offline

    kunak83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But the phone always have service. yesterday the time with no signal was 75%. today it is 5%?
    Does anyone's service bars change non stop from 2-4-3-0-3...ect? (in 3G)
  4. burgler
    Offline

    burgler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been having the same experience. My bars go from full to zero, to full, without me moving the phone. I've posted this on this forum and a couple others, but haven't gotten any answers yet, as to whether that is normal or not.
    and my phone all week had "time without signal" over 85%, but today it's been at 25% and 18%. If I find anything out, I'll be sure to post.
  5. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,059
    Likes Received:
    695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    stupid question but did you guys update the PRL's? *228 option 2?
  6. burgler
    Offline

    burgler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, i did do the *228 #2 a couple days ago. I didn't notice any change at first. But now I'm wondering if maybe that was what did the trick, and why my time w/o signal is now down under 20%.

    actually, i literally just checked and my bars are still going from 4 to 0...
  7. kunak83
    Offline

    kunak83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I even went into verizon to change the phone but they ran a few call tests and it passed so they said they cant change it.
    I have also been told that the phone went right to voicmail several times during they day. That bothers me
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
  8. burgler
    Offline

    burgler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    kunak,
    that is just a verizon store that is trying to strong arm you. You have 30 days from purchasing a new phone to exchange it with verizon.
    Make sure you go to an official Verizon store, and not an "authorized retailer", and you should get a different response. Or maybe try calling verizon support directly.
  9. kunak83
    Offline

    kunak83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have already changed my first droid for not holding a charge. I wonder if there is a certain # of times in that 30 days you can change a phone.
  10. burgler
    Offline

    burgler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahhh...well that I'm not sure of. But I have read on multiple forums that people have had to return their droids more than once. But maybe those people's phones failed Verizon's crack test that your phone passed.
  11. kunak83
    Offline

    kunak83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol....well believe it or not, the phone was been working well all day so hopefully it was a minor service issue.
Search tags for this page

what is cell standby on samsung stratosphere