CDMA Milestone A854

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hatlessman, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. hatlessman

    hatlessman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello! My brother just got this phone from a local carrier (Alaska). I have a suspicion that its just a Droid, but with a different name so as not to step on Verizon's toes.

    Also, Universal AndRoot identified it as a Droid, and it worked fine. Should I use Droid roms? I did a nandroid backup just in case, but I thought I'd ask before I tried anything.
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Interesting situation. What does the phone model say. Tap, menu, tap settings, tap about phone, Look at Model Number.
     
  3. hatlessman

    hatlessman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The model # is A854.
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Mine says "Droid" I'm not sure how to respond regarding the installation of a Rom.
     
  5. hatlessman

    hatlessman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I think I'm just gonna give a rom a try. Here goes!
     
  6. Online1

    Online1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you try a ROM post a update here. I have one of these also. But have not loaded a custom ROM yet. The most I have done is Root and overclock.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  7. Online1

    Online1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. hatlessman

    hatlessman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep! I flashed Froyo Bugless Beast 0.5 just fine! Looks like its a rebranded Droid! YAY!
     
  9. theredchord

    theredchord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey hatlessman so does everything work mms, data, ext... im thinking about going to acs but only if i can get the a854 overclocked and running 2.2 custom roms.. any info would be great thanks
     
  10. Online1

    Online1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am running 2.2 with no problems. Everything works fine. OC to 1000mHz. Rom I use is in my sig. Then you just run one if the custom Kernels like Chevy's or something for more speed.
     
  11. awmartin

    awmartin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the A854 on Nex-Tech Wireless (local to my area) and the only thing that I have found not to work without a little adjusting is the MMS on most custom ROMs that I have loaded. I found a solution to that though and depending on your carrier, you have to add in an apns-conf_xx.xml file to the /system/etc folder, not hard to do though. You can find this apns-conf files in your stock rom under the /system/etc folder and if you have trouble finding them, let me know and I can post the one for your carrier.
     
  12. theredchord

    theredchord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply... I'm still a little nervous about acs mainly because there lack of good phones. I'm on att now with a nexus but there coverage just sucks. Thanks again for the piece of mind about the a854.
     
Search tags for this page
android acs alaska apns-conf xml
,
gci cdma android
,
milestone a854
,
motorola a854 cdma
,
motorola a854 milestone
,
motorola a854 review
,
motorola a854 specs
,

motorola milestone a854 review

,
motorola milestone a854 specs
,
motorola milestone work with cdma coverage?