CarrierIQ

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by buellboy9, Dec 1, 2011.

  1. buellboy9

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    So will we be seeing any ROM that does NOT have CIQ embedded any time soon for the Bionic?
     
  2. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    you read the article and watched the video too I take it. that is some crazy ssstuf.
     
  3. yiannis

    yiannis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would assume that purity ROMs do not have it?
     
  4. buellboy9

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I know the AOSP ROMs don't have that crap in it, but to the best of my knowledge none of the current custom ROMs for the Bionic are based on AOSP.
     
  5. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    eclipse is aosp as much as possible.
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
  7. gmorgan056

    gmorgan056 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ratings:
    +1
    According to Droid-Life a VZW rep said that no Verizon phones have CIQ on them. Obviously take that with a grain of salt because i'm sure they wouldn't admit it freely if they did.
     
  8. z96Cobra

    z96Cobra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The bigger question (since Verizon states they don't have CIQ on our Bionic) is... is there another program on our phone that does the same thing, but under a different name?.?.
     
  9. buellboy9

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Interesting, because I thought the only way Verizon could gather the information laid out in their recent "Privacy Notice" was through CIQ... Guess I'll have to run that tool (mentioned in an earlier post) and see if the Verizon rep is lying or not. Just running the stock ROM rooted here.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. dags5000

    dags5000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    i ran the log checker from xda on stock and it couldn 't find any evidence of ciq. can't say for sure it's correct, but seems it's not there.
     
  11. DroidTh3ory

    DroidTh3ory Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Verizon has stated they DO NOT use CarrierIQ.



    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic carrier hacks