Car Home Issues

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by jerroedr, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i was trying to download the new car home from the market so i deleted the one in scripts with chevy tools, downloaded and successfully installed the new version, but it wont let me open it. At all. Its not in my app drawer but it is in my downloaded apps in my settings. i cant figure it out

    And i cant figure out how to reinstall the script i deleted. thanks guys!

    any advice would help!
     
  2. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy? you out there?

    Where do the backups save to when you delete a script? i deleted car home to try and get the market version which wont open. I want it back! lol
     
  3. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it. It took a little thinking but i got it
     
  4. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like you deleted the launcher too. That is what happ to me but I did it by hand. For others that come across this, just delete the carhome app, not the launcher. Then you be good to go.
     
  5. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    is the launcher 228 kb or 24 kb? i have two car home things and want to delete the right one
     
  6. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    CarHomeLauncher.apk size 13767

    The size is what I get from rootexplorer. But that is the name of the apk that you DONT want to delete.
     
  7. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    screw it! i cant get it to work restore time!
     
  8. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what I did. Try this to get it to work. I actually removed both carhome apks from /system/app, rebooted, installed carhome from market, then copied the carhomelauncher apk from ss4.8 back to /system/app and installed it. That is how I got it to work.
     
  9. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    meh, im tired of messing with it. that sounds like it could work but i really dont want it to not work and have to restore again. the old version is fine with me
     
  10. y0rk

    y0rk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should've been able to install the market updated version over top of the one that came in 4.8 without having to remove it.

    FYI, I have pulled the old version out of my themes so it won't copy over the new one. I left the launcher in there so the icons will still match though.
     
  11. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    so....i dont know how or when it happened but i got the new version...2.2.1... im confused!
     
  12. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    OH! york! unrelated question, how do i load the transparent dialer? the silver smoke is hard to see in the sunlight. Thanks!
     
Search tags for this page

cyanogen car mode

,
cyanogenmod 7 car mode
,
cyanogenmod disable car mode