Caps Lock button on keyboard not doing anythin

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by droidbound, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. droidbound

    droidbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Does anybody else have this problem? The caps lock button is not doing anything. To get lock caps I can hit the shift button twice, but what's the deal with the caps lock? What am I missing here?
     
  2. 4everwadez

    4everwadez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I came in here looking for info on the same issue, just got droid 4 yesterday and noticed cap locks key is useless. any other info?

    Thanks & Have a great day all!
     
  3. chefboyardee

    chefboyardee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I saw another person on another site's forum (can't find the thread right now) with this problem and they returned their phone and that fixed it. Possibly just a problem with that button's hardware?

    My caps lock button works as it's supposed to, for what it's worth :)
     
  4. droidbound

    droidbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I solved my own problem. I was standing in line at Best Buy already when inspiration hit me. I am using SwiftKey as a replacement for the stock keyboard. Disabling that GAVE ME THE CAPS LOCK BACK.
    But I think I'd rather live without caps lock than without SwiftKey :)
    Since you get caps lock by hitting shift twice I still think it's a sad waste of real estate to have a caps lock button in the first place.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  5. chefboyardee

    chefboyardee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Gotta agree with that. I do use the caps key now that I have it but never lusted for one with my D1. I was so used to the double shift press that I would much rather see a physical @ key or get my Alt key back!
     
  6. 4everwadez

    4everwadez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wanted to say a HUGE THANK YOU for your post. I was using swiftkey also, which I LOVE! and was on my way to the verizon store when I pulled over, deactivated swiftkey & it worked. I was soooo thankful! you saved me so much headache. I've been meaning to come back in here and note this sooner. So, yes, I have a wasted key because like you I am still using swiftkey.

    by the way, why is there an OK key on the right? I'd rather have had a right side shift key! who uses that! lol oh well, guess they can't taylor it to my needs right?

    Have a great day!


     
  7. droidbound

    droidbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey! Anytime! Thanks for the warm fuzzy feeling I got reading your post.
    But that's what the forum is all about, isn't it: sharing.
    I got so much great advice, ideas and tips here - I'm happy to be able to return a tiny bit of that.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  8. Dracmus

    Dracmus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOW, I almost had myself convinced I needed to return my phone until I came to this forum and read this!!!! Thanks for the insight!
     
  9. BriCo84

    BriCo84 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Vote to fix it!

    Hey guys, I opened up a new ticket at swiftkey's support site to get this fixed. Go here and "vote" to have it fixed. Hopefully we can get enough votes that they will get this fixed.

    Caps lock key on Motorola Droid 4 does not work with swiftkey installed
     
Search tags for this page
cap lock stopped working on android
,
caps button not working on droid
,

caps lock button not working

,
capslock not working
,

droid 4 caps lock not working

,
g60-535dx notebook caps lock key not working
,
how to fix caps lock issue on droid 4
,
how to turn caps lock off on droid pro
,
shift key wont work on my droid
,
swiftkey how to turn on caps lock