Can't Voice Search Contacts

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by LennyPK, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. LennyPK

    LennyPK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Piedmont North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    No matter what I try, I cannot get voice commands to search my contacts list.

    Let's say I have a contact simply named John with a mobile phone number only. I've tried "Call John", "Phone John", "Dial John", "Call John Mobile".... nothing works.

    The Droid goes to a web search bringing back web results for "John".

    Any ideas what's wrong?
     
  2. stumpie

    stumpie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this ,, tap Menue , Search , Then tap the Mic on the top of the screen .. Now say " Call John "

    I think this method makes it search the phone , not the internet ..

    Good luck ..
     
  3. LennyPK

    LennyPK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Piedmont North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried it Stumpie, same results.

    Does not search through contacts.
     
  4. LennyPK

    LennyPK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Piedmont North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    p.s. I just checked and I do have "Contacts" set as a searchable item.
     
  5. stumpie

    stumpie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hmmm ,, Don't know whats wrong . I just tried it with 5 of my contacts and it worked 100 % ..

    Maybe someone else will have an idea ..

    Good luck ..
     
  6. LennyPK

    LennyPK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Piedmont North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I can get contacts up on the screen using the "Voice Dialer", but I thought the mike on the top of the screen next to Google search is supposed to check for a match in Contacts before going to the web.
     
  7. MikeDroid

    MikeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are two 'voice' icons, one searches the web(very cool!) the other contacts. You are using the web one, use the other one..
     
  8. osieko

    osieko New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the exact same problem. I showed a guy at the Verizon store and he was stumped. My voice search does not search contacts in the "Car Home" and the general search. The Verizon guy's Droid worked, but mine does not. Looks like a bug that happens in some phones and not all.
    Who do I talk to about this?
     
  9. G8TR

    G8TR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem here, contact voice dialer doesn't work.
     
  10. CronoDL

    CronoDL New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Voice Dialer works for me. I'd have say something like "Call Candice Mobile" and it'll find it. It doesn't work 100% of the time, but good enough. The Voice Dialer is different from the Google Voice Search, which does search the web, as well as contacts, but it's definitely not as accurate as the voice dialer, and it gives you a list of search results instead of directly dialing.
     
  11. flyer05

    flyer05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. I guess I will live with it.
     
  12. mcmess

    mcmess New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe your contacts have to be synced with GMail. I had a problem getting contacts to come up when creating a text message. After syncing with my GMail account it works fine.
     
Search tags for this page
android contacts voice search
,

android voice search contacts

,
s voice can't find contacts in my contact list
,
s voice not recognizing contacts
,
voice contact search
,

voice search contacts

,
voice search contacts android
,
voice search doesn't find contacts
,
voice search doesn't recognize contacts
,
voice search torrent