Solved Can't use as a normal phone

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by antaine, Jun 5, 2015.

  1. antaine

    antaine Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    So I’ve developed a weird problem with my unrooted Droid MAXX in the last few weeks. Motorola has been unable to help, and I haven’t seen this exact problem described online. Here’s what happens:

    When I make or receive a call, the only options are “speakerphone on” and “speakerphone off.” Normally, that menu has “handset earpiece” as the default option. Clicking the menu just turns the speakerphone on or off rather than giving me options.

    If I have my Bluetooth earpiece connected, however, the menu shows “Bluetooth,” “Handset Earpiece,” and “Speakerphone” (like it’s supposed to). If I select “handset earpiece” from there, it works normally. The problem is that I MUST have a Bluetooth earpiece connected in order to have that option in the menu.

    I’ve tried everything short of a factory reset. I’ve done two of them in my time, along with setting up this phone when I first got it, and it takes me 14-15 hours to redownload and reconfigure everything, so I am EXTREMELY reluctant to do it.

    I’ve restarted the phone, I’ve cleared the cache, and I’ve started it in safe mode. Other than screwing up my widgets with safe mode, nothing seemed to alter the situation.

    I almost exclusively use a Bluetooth, so I really don’t know how long the problem has been going on (I first noticed it about two or three weeks ago).
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,871
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I don't remember ever seeing a "Handset Earpiece" option on the Dialer screen? I think my scren has always looked like this.

    Screenshot_2015-06-05-14-24-35.png
     
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I would think I would just skip to the factory reset.. I know that not popular.. But it saves you some gray hair and frustration
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,871
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I think the options you mentioned only appear when on a Blue Tooth call. Here is my screen on a BT call. The Handset Earpiece option is only there when on a BT call.




    Screenshot_2015-06-05-14-41-34.png
     
  5. antaine

    antaine Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    @sajokaz - That is what I see, too, but that is the speakerphone. I can't use it as a normal phone. When I turn that off, I can hear the other person through the earpiece of the phone, but they can't hear me at all. So I have to take a call either on bluetooth or speakerphone.

    This is what the handset icon looks like and the menu with all three options. In order to get that, I have to have a bluetooth connected. If I ever lost my bluetooth, I'd be unable to make normal calls until I got a new one.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. antaine

    antaine Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    okay, we posted at the same time. Yes, but my phone still won't allow me to talk to someone unless the speakerphone is on (when calling without bluetooth). When I have the bluetooth connected and choose handset earpiece, it works just fine, so it isn't that my phone's internal mic is broken, either.
     
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,871
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I tend to agree with @94lt1 now that we have more info. If your mic works on a BT call but doesn't work on a non BT call then a FDR may be the option. Unless you can figure out which app is causing the issue. I agree with you that's its probably not hardware. But which app or apps is causing this? Have you at least tried in Safe Mode?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  8. antaine

    antaine Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yup. No change in safe mode
     
  9. antaine

    antaine Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Alright, so I reenabled all the things I had disabled (even if I didn't think it had anything to do with the phone operation like that) and something on the list must have been the culprit because it's working now.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    6,871
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Awesome! Glad you figured it out. That's way easier than another FDR.
     
  11. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2