Can't update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by anterka, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. anterka
    Offline

    anterka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey,

    I can't update my phone, If i go to system updates it says my device is up to date, no update is necessary at this time. Well my firmware version is 2.2, so it should, I have never updated, it have never notified me.
    I live in Hungary, my carrier is Vodafone Hungary, and as far as I know my phone is from England. Is there a way to update manually? I need to have 2.3 at least.

    Thanks,

    -anterka
  2. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    what is your system version, 1.2.148?
    are you rooted?
  3. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    themib, Vodafone is a GSM carrier. His firmware version is 2.4.29 or 2.4.330, as it's a DROID2 GLOBAL.

    anterka, you probably have the updater app frozen or removed. You can, though, flash the factory image (known as SBF) for 4.5.608 with RSDLite.
  4. anterka
    Offline

    anterka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just realised I don't have the global version, it's a Motorola Milestone 2, the 1 Ghz version. My system version is Version.62.4.18.A953.AsiaRetail.en.03, and my kernel version is 2.6.32.9. By the way my phone is unlocked.
  5. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    thats why i asked
    I'm guessing there is no official you may be able update, with a sbf for different carrier, if you flash with linux or mac with sbf_flash, you may not lose you radio settings

    not sure what you mean, as a milestone it should come sim unlocked, unlike the D2G
    band unlocked?
    don't think it could be bootloader unlocked

    edit: try a Milestone 2 forum
    I would start here http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=957
    and several SBFs here http://sbf.droid-developers.org/umts_milestone2/list.php


  6. anterka
    Offline

    anterka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. MissionImprobable
    Offline

    MissionImprobable Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You should make sure to use only files made specifically for the Milestone 2 in terms of firmware.
  8. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
  9. anterka
    Offline

    anterka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    should be, back up your apn settings
Search tags for this page

can't update droid 2 global

,
can't update firmware on my droid global
,
droid 2 global cannot update
,
droid 2 global kernel update
,
i can't updade my droid2 global
,
i can't update my droid 2 global
,
motorola droid 2 a955 cannot update
,
update kernel apk motorola droid 2
,
update my droid 2 global
,
why can't i update my droid 2 phone
,
why can't i update my software on droid global 2