Can't unroot droid x

11bravo

Reaction score
Ok im really a noob at this. I rooted my droid x and I just want to unroot it just in case I ever need to return it but everthing I have tried fails. I tried one click unrooting and terminal unrooting. Please help and thanks in advance. Also new to this forum app.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
Rooyzwiki has the 2.2 sbf. Sbf is the preferred unrooting method since "for service" means replacement.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App

OP

11bravo

Reaction score
Cool thanks bro ill go ahead and give it a try. Is there a one click root method that will work for the droid x just in case I want to reroot?

OP

11bravo

Reaction score
Ok I know this may be a dumb question but what exactly is an sbf? Can u explain in retard terms?

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
Twitter
furryvarmint
I think SBF stands for Stock Boot File. You use a program called RSD Lite to "flash" or install it on your Motorola phone. It overwrites everything in the phone's internal memory and installs all the software that came stock on your phone. It's like returning it to fresh, out of the box newness, just with a few dents and scratches, used SD card, and battery that might not hold quite as good a charge as it did when you bought it. :)

OP

11bravo

Reaction score
Wow thanks man. I like learning about all this rooting and rom things its really interesting. Im beggining to understand alot better. I should have done more research before rooting my phone though. Will "rebooting" delete all my apps, pics, contacts, ect? ..

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
Twitter
furryvarmint