Can't uninstall/reinstall problem apps after moving to SD

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by jeffe65, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I flashed MedickOne's(sp) FRG22D Black 'n Blue ROM the other day, and that went fine. I restored many of my previous apps, and then went to Launcher Pro, which I had already been using. So far, it had been working flawlessly.

    Today I used the Linux command "pm setInstallLocation 2" (which I've done before) to move some apps to the SD card. I moved several, and all went well. Then I rebooted, all was good, so I moved several more, and now I'm stuck where I can't recover backed-up apps and I can't uninstall them either. The one app that "crashed" was Apps Organizer; every app that was in one of the Labels/Folders I'm unable to restore, even the ones I didn't move to the SD card. Unfortunately, this includes Titanium Backup. Those same apps are also unavailable in the app drawer.

    If I go to Settings/Applications/Manage Applications, the ones that are working are listed as usual. The ones that aren't have no icons, and have common names like "com.datavis.docstogo", and some have such long names I can't read them. When I select one to uninstall, every field says "Computing." Whether from there or from App Monster, if I try to reinstall something, it goes to reinstall and will sit there for an hour in an endless process.

    The rest of the apps work fine; I'm at a loss as to what to do at this point. I did a full nandroid backup this morning before starting most of this, and a simple one the other day before flashing a P3Droid kernel, but I've never done a restore, and everything I've found online (not this forum) looks way involved - Running it through a PC, downloading ADB, etc., so I don't know what my best option is at this point. I think I'm stuck between either attempting a restore or just reflash the ROM again and try again.

    Any ideas? BTW -- I'm using SPRecovery, have 90% battery plus a spare.
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010
  2. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Actually it's pretty simple to do a restore. No matter which custom recovery image you're using. And I think this is what you want to do at this point. With SPRecovery (which you have) go to 'advanced restore' and choose your latest working backup, and just go ahead and restore it, no problem. I think it will have an option to select which portions to restore (system, data, boot,etc.), just select them all.

    As far as what got you here, there are some apps that just don't like to be run from the sdcard, and personally IMHO I'd just as soon have them/run them from my phone's memory. And I use the "let the app choose" method when installing new apps; I don't use any method to move apps to sd, but that's just me. After all, the weakest link on the A855 phone is going to be the sdcard.

    good luck
  3. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I agree that all apps are not suited to run from an SD card. If you are unsure if an app is suitable to me moved to your SD card you can verify by taping menu, settings, applications, manage applications, tap the application. If the Move to SD card is grayed it is not suitable for the SD card.

    I use Apps Organizer and on my phone move to SD card is grayed out.

    I suggest that you restore the most recent backup you made prior to moving the apps t the SD card verify what can be moved and proceed from there.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Mike
  4. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thanks for your responses. I tried a full restore (which was simple, by the way), but it wound up having the same issues. I must have run the backup after starting this, so I re-flashed the ROM after wiping data/cache. Before that, I re-set setInstallLocation to "0", which I understand to be "auto", which lets the system decide where to put it.

    That went well, and now I've reached a point where some of my apps have been re-installed, and suddenly I can download them from the market, but the install just runs and runs, and never finishes. I've rebooted several times, hoping this would clear something, but no change; I seem to have hit a roadblock. If I use App Monster to re-install, I get the same thing, whereas I did install a couple of them from there before this started.

    I went into Settings....Manage Applications, and many of them say "computing..." instead of showing any data. A few that show file size still say "computing" when you open them to view details. Many of them don't have their default icons; they have an Android icon with an SD card symbol next to it, and I can't uninstall any of them.

    Is the updating process for the OS just something that takes a lot of time? I did the re-flash about four hours ago, and have been fooling with it since, and have decided to put it down for a while. The apps that are installed seem to be working just fine. Any other suggestions are welcome...
  5. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Did you try clearing the market cache?

    -Droid Does
  6. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Do your flash again with the wipe and this time do the part in red first, wait until you get 'xxx applications restored' in your notification bar, then go ahead and start doing the part in bold, get it?

    Fact is we have found that with froyo and a data wipe, the best thing to do right after signing back into your google account is put the phone down and just leave it alone. Let the market do it's thing. It works much better that way. It will only take 20 minutes at the most.

    good luck

    good luck
  7. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I had re-flashed last night, wiped x3, and started adding things when the synch icon disappeared from the notification bar. Is this the same thing, or do I need to wait for another message that says 'xxx applications restored'? If so, I have no problem re-flashing again, because I'm at the same roadblock: Can't install anything, can't clear any chache/data from Manage Applications area.
  8. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I did notice something last night after I had re-flashed: When I turned Wi-fi back on, it didn't ask me for a password, which it did the first time I flashed this ROM. Instead it just connected, and went on its merry way. Seems it shouldn't do that after a full wipe?
  9. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    I don't know about the wifi thing, but yes, after a wipe and then flash, keep waiting until you see the "xxx applications restored" in your notification bar. Your sync icon will dissappear probably well before you get this message.

    good luck
  10. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thanks; I re-flashed about 40 min. ago, and I'm letting it run. Here's hoping...
  11. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Three hours later there was still no notification of apps restored. I went into the market and the only update pending was Maps; I updated that. No changes, so I downloaded a few more apps and I'm back where I was. At the moment it's stuck trying to install and app, and I give up.

    I did notice that each time I re-flashed, it saved the Wi-fi settings and the wallpaper I had set the previous install to; seems like it shouldn't do that. It also shouldn't take an entire day to update/restore its apps. I thought about looking for a different Froyo install, then discovered neither of my computers recognize my Droid any more. If I reboot the phone while it's connected, it gives me the option to connect, so I do, and then it freezes after a long wait and then force closes. I guess I can always pull the card out and do it that way.
  12. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Well, I am sorry that my 'method' didn't work for you. You have done a factory data reset (or wipe data/cache within rom manager) before re-loading your rom? Sounds like you have. I guess all I can say is like it is with all things cell phone.

    YMMV. (your mileage may vary).

    Wish I had a better answer, but maybe . . .

    good luck
  13. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I do appreciate your help; I know how it is with phones and computers - no two are ever alike no matter what you do. I did read in another thread that if you have Titanium Backup to just restore the apps from there, no data. That's something I didn't do before, and it's kept the Market cache easier to manage, so I can clear it when I need to.
  14. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    I had one last silly little thought. Go on your phone to: menu -> settings -> accounts and sync -> and see if both "background data" and "auto-sync" are checked. If they are, double check those settings on your backup. And that's my last grasped straw.

    good luck
  15. DroidFan88
    Offline

    DroidFan88 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    I've had an issue with apps hanging while installing whether they are from the market or not. It will be downloading and installing fine then, for whatever reason, it hangs and I can't install or uninstall anything. I've gone into Settings, Manage Applications to force close the market (which is always saying Computing) when that happens but that doesn't work. I've tried re-flashing my recovery, re-booting, re-booting into boot loader, but still no go. I end up having to use RSD lite and re-flashing the stock recovery then re-rooting the way MotoCache1 has stated. Works fine but it's a pain in the butt to have to keep doing this when I get this issue. Any ideas?
  16. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Other than what I and others have already posted in this thread, no.

    good luck
  17. jeffe65
    Offline

    jeffe65 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I did a search recently, and it seems the issue of apps hanging at install/download isn't isolated to any particular phone or even whether it's stock or running a custom ROM - It seems to be a major glitch in GApps, and they don't respond AT ALL to the numerous complaints. You can have one phone running perfectly, and an identical model sitting next to it, and there may be one or two apps causing a hangup, and it's stuck there.

    I just did something that cleared the "Computing..." in everything under Manage Applications: I went in and Force Closed and Cleared Data in everything related to Google and/or Market, shut down the phone, pulled the battery, and everything appears back up and working again, for the time being. This may or may not be a fix, but I'm not doing any more wipes/reinstalls now that I know it isn't related to that process.
  18. Big4ce1
    Offline

    Big4ce1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have exactly the same problem which has come and gone with a reboot. Apps will appear and dissapear after rebooting. I have also wiped data and done a nandroid backup as well. It has something to do with Froyo because I did not have this problem before 2.2 .
Search tags for this page
android cant reinstall app after uninstall
,

android manage applications computing

,
can't uninstall anything droid x2
,
cannot uninstall anything droid
,
cell phone shuts down when installing or moving apps
,
i moved some apps to sd and now i cant open them how to fix?