Can't successfully flash rom

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by zrowley, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. zrowley

    zrowley New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Motorola milestone and I can't get a Rom to work. I use Rom manager to download Rom and flash it but when my phone reboots it is stuck in an endless boot cycle. What am I doing wrong? Any suggestions?

    Sent from my A854 using DroidForums App
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +230
    are you wiping data before flashing the ROM??
     
  3. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should always wipe and cache before installing rom!

    Swyped from my Elite Droid!
     
  4. zrowley

    zrowley New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes before it flashes I have an option to wipe date and cache ... I have tried both with and w/out wiping data

    Sent from my A854 using DroidForums App
     
  5. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you are flashing a comparable rom. What happens after you wipe and cache?

    Swyped from my Elite Droid!
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +230

    What ROM are you trying to flash?? I see you have the A854 Milestone so regular Droid ROMs should work for you.

    Can you get into recovery??
     
  7. zrowley

    zrowley New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying to flash Chevy no1 SS gingerbread with .8 ghz low voltage kernal
    Sent from my A854 using DroidForums App
     
  8. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +230
    should work....try to boot into recovery.
     
  9. zrowley

    zrowley New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    now im having problems booting into recovery ... i went into rom manager, flashed clockworkmod recovery and tried to boot into recovery and it didnt work. my phone just rebooted
     
  10. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flash raid zero's rzr recovery. Then try flashing your rom.

    Swyped from my Elite Droid!
     
  11. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +72
    Try flashing alternate recovery (SPR) then flashing CW again ...

    Sent from my Incinerated DROID
     
  12. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +72

    Will his recovery work on other devices? I agree with you though, if at all possible drop CW and ROM Manager

    Sent from my Incinerated DROID
     
  13. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not for sure Yank, I think milestone and Droid are comparable. I'm running Rzr but not on a milestone.

    Swyped from my Elite Droid!
     
  14. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +72
    Yeah, it is a great recovery. I'd def recommend the OP look into it ... if it'll work on a milestone I say go for it!!!

    Sent from my Incinerated DROID
     
  15. zrowley

    zrowley New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what steps do i need to take to flash rzr recovery... im new to this
     
Search tags for this page

flash rom for milestone x2

,

why cant i use rom manager to flash my android