Can't send MMS (Pictures)

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by natezire71, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Hey guys,

    I just noticed a problem on my phone. I tried sending a picture to two different friends, and it would not send. Friend A has a Palm Centro. Friend B has a enV3. I've never had problems sending pictures until I recently went rooted. I am running Sapphire 0.8.4. I have the Black Bar mod installed. Other than that, I have no theming really. I don't use Handcent, or any other program. I use the Stock one that came with Sapphire. I've tried sending pictures to both Verizon users, and non-Verizon users. Still no luck. When I send a picture, it comes up on the conversation, and says "Sending..." and stays there. If you long press on the pictures, and select "Message Details" it says it "Sent." That's not true, as it never makes it to the receiving end. :(

    What do I do?! :O

    All help is appreciated! :)

    PS: Please don't tell me I should "try Handcent because it's amazing," as I don't want to use Handcent. I've tried it, and didn't feel the need for it. Sorry if that sounded a bit mean.
  2. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Someone? Please? :\
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Lets put your thread in the section for your ROM and see if you can get some help there.
  4. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Someone? Pleassseeeeeeeeeee. :(
  5. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to your home screen and press the back button 4 times.
    Then hold down the Alt key for 10 seconds.
    Next, do a battery pull. Leave the battery out for 30 seconds. Reinsert the battery and power the phone on.
    While the phone is booting up, find a 1971 dime and a 1994 quarter, and spin them on a table (you might want to go get those coins ahead of time because they need to be spinning while the phone is booting).
    Once you get to the homescreen, type this exactly: "MMS initialize script execute". Once you type that, hit the back button 4 times, just like you did in the first step.
    Now, try your MMS messaging - it should work.
  6. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Are you serious?
  7. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha, trying to add some humor! The serious step was the 30 second battery pull.
  8. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Dude, I'm not doing that--for obvious reasons.

    If you saw the other post, sorry. I couldn't tell if you were kidding or not. :O Forgive me. (And the battery pull didn't work).
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  9. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait, you aren't doing what? A battery pull? That won't hurt anything and is a common first troubleshooting step.

    I think most people reading would find that humorous, especially with your repeated bumps, pleas for help, and emoticons. If people don't respond, they don't know.

    In all seriousness, have you tried a battery pull yet?

    EDIT: Now I saw your edit. Sorry the battery pull didn't work. I don't know what would cause your problem.
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  10. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yeah man.

    It didn't work.

    I know I'm bumping it, mainly because I NEED to send a picture. :p
  11. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you attach the picture through messaging, or did you use the share feature through the gallery? If you did one way, try the other way.
  12. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yeah, tried that. Still no go.
  13. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try dialing *22899 to update your PRLs. Maybe it's an issue with how your phone is communicating with the towers.
  14. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Update my Roaming capabilities? I've already done that. Unless PRL'S are something different?
  15. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's the same; I think PRL stands for preferred roaming list.

    I'm out of ideas for now, but I will think more and post back if I have a revelation that might help.

    Good luck.

    P.S.
    Sorry if you didn't get my humor the first time; I promise I'm a nice person, and I thought a laugh would help your frustration. I really do hope you can get it working!
  16. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I just did it. It said it would take up to 15mins though. :p



    Nah man, it's cool. I did think it was funny. xD I just mis-interpreted it. It's my bad, ya seem like a nice dude.
  17. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    It still doesn't work. :\

    Actually, I realized something.

    A few weeks back, I tired to install this:

    Download: New MMS.apk With Custom Settings - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    I installed it, it worked fine. However, I realized I wasn't crazy about the old layout, as I had grown accustomed to the new 2.2 layout. So, I deleted it off my phone, and reversed those instructions to allow me to have the 2.2 Froyo Messaging app, (the one that came with Sapphire 0.8.4).

    I'm not sure if this would have anything to do with it?
  18. Mayh3m
    Offline

    Mayh3m Hoodie Ninja Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Idk if it may be the same issue we had a while back but ill walk you trough this.

    1. Make a nandroid backup
    2. Flash to a rom where your pix works. Bb works fine
    3. Verify the pix msging works
    4. Using root explorer go to /system/app/telephonyprovider.apk
    5. Make a copy of this to your sd
    6. Restore to sapphire
    7. Useing root explorer delete sapphires telephonyprovider.apk and replace with the one on your sd (remember to give it correct permissions)
    8. Reboot and verify it sends now.
    IF YOU MESS UP AT ANY POINT JUST RESTORE AND TRY AGAIN.

    Please tell me if this works for you. If you need furthrer help feel free to contact me though gtalk and ill walk you through this.8ts in my siggy
  19. natezire71
    Offline

    natezire71 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    That sounds like it might work.

    I actually stayed up all night re-rooting my phone. I apparently killed the battery, so it had to be plugged in to the wall charger. I now just finally fixed it. It took me several hours. I'll probably do this tonight. :) Thanks!
  20. Mayh3m
    Offline

    Mayh3m Hoodie Ninja Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Np man and now that I think about it you can pull the apk from a nandroid if you know it worked in one
Search tags for this page
alternate way to send pictures nexus 4
,
can't send mms pictures
,
can't send mms pictures android
,
cant get or send muti media pictures
,

cant send mms pictures

,
cant send pictures from galaxy s4 mms spinning
,
cant send pictures with droid 4
,
kik for android can't send some pics
,
red x on picture when sending mms
,
why can't send mms pics via droid 4
,
why cant people view my the picture i send them on kik