Can't run ANY ROM!

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by nonnasmyladie, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    So I rooted my phone awhile back but just never installed a custom ROM.

    Now I can't install a new ROM.

    I tried about 6 ROMS and 2 different kernals but none of the combinations worked.

    No matter what roms or kernals i run i end up with a phone that freezes in about 20 seconds after booting and then I can't boot into recovery and i have to manually flash recover and its a whole long ordeal.

    I even tried ROM manager to instal a rom thinking maybe I was just doing it wrong but every single rom i installed with rom manager froze.

    Has anyone had this problem?

    Anyone know how i could be able to install a custom rom without this problem?
     
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Two things. One, if you're losing recovery every time it's because you probably didn't root properly and as a result the Recovery Replacement System is kicking in because it wasn't disabled.

    Two, are you doing a factory reset 3X before you install a ROM? Some phones require more than one wipe before a ROM will fully take.
     
  3. adsfa34
    Offline

    adsfa34 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 ^^^ ...here is the most reliable method to rooting the Droid 1 running the current firmware: Root Droid 1 - Regardless of OS version

    *pay special attention on the section on "catching the boot". As FBM said, if the Recovery Replacement System kicks in, you'll only have recovery for 1 boot cycle, then you'll have to start all over (no fun!). So have your ROM ready to flash when you start all this -- if you want to try GB, I would give Pete Alfono's build a go -- I've heard great things and they're pretty stable overall. [ROM STABLE] Stock Gingerbread Android 2.3.2 Build GPA12 Just rename it to update.zip and place on the root (/) of your sdcard to use with SPRecovery.

    good luck :)
     
  4. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    make sure you wipe your data & cache.. most roms wont run with the stock roms data
     
  5. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    I wiped everytime

    I wiped everytime i installed a new ROM still froze everytime.
     
  6. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Something else to consider is possibly a kernel issue. Not all phones can handle the higher speeds or low voltages. There have been quite a few people having issues with low voltage kernels or overclocking to or over 800mhz.
     
  7. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    kernal issue

    i tries three kernals and chevy i tried low voltage and medium at 1gh and 800 each
     
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
  9. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well i'm not going to simply try a new ROM unless I have reason to believe that it won't screw up my recovery and that it might work.
     
  10. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    Help please phone won't turn on!

    i did a factory reset three times then installed a new rom and now my phone won't even turn on its stuck on the motorola screen!
     
  11. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is def something messed up with your recovery, either that or with the process you're using. I've never heard of a properly rooted Droid not being able to flash anything. Your best bet would be to flash the stock, unrooted sbf file for 2.2.1 and reroot.

    Maybe a stupid question but you do have a Verizon droid1 and not an A853 milestone right? These roms and kernels will only run on Verizon droids and A854 milestones

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
  13. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    ahh

    ya its a verizon droid.

    How do i flash the stock if my phone won't turn on?
     
  14. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    That link is to a 600mhz kernel not a ROM. To boot into recovery from a bootloop pull the battery and then hold the x key and the power button. It should then boot straight into whichever recovery you have installed. If you have a nandroid backup of your previous ROM, flash that, if not, your probably going to have to flash the sbf and go back to unrooted stock 2.2.1 and start over.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  15. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    help

    Ya i can't boot into recovery.

    I literally can't turn on my phone now.
     
Search tags for this page

have a custom recovery but cant flash anything

,

i cant install any custom roms

,

new rom won't fully install

,

phone wont allow new rom flash

,

samsung gravity wont download roms?