1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't restore apps using Titanium Backup

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by thunder550, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    New Bionic, rooted, coming from an X. Did a batch backup on the X with TiBu of User Apps. Swapped the SD card over to the Bionic and now when I go to do a restore on the Bionic it tells me that there are no missing apps. It says the Backup folder on the SD Card is empty. I can browse to sdcard/TitaniumBackup and see all the files, but TiBu says it's empty. Any ideas?
  2. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    did you tick the box for unknown sources?


    SETTINGS>APPLICATIONS>UNKNOWN SOURCES
  3. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    Yes unknown sources are allowed.
  4. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    I havent used TB in over a year so I cant offer anything else... thats the one tip I've picked up today from others who had issues with it. I'm sure somebody else will pop in with a suggestion.
  5. tgs3838
    Offline

    tgs3838 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you use Titanium backup to backup your apps. Then transfer them to the bionic with Titanium Backup... will all the saved data from the old phone transfer over? Just trying to figure out if there is a way to get app data on the new phone. Re-downloading all the apps isnt really a problem. but for me i just hate losing all the progress of games and stuff from my old phone.
  6. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    So far I haven't been able to get Titanium to even recognize that there are backups on the SD card in the Bionic. I'll keep messing with it but it doesn't look promising so far. PITA.
  7. Artimis
    Offline

    Artimis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a Bionic or Droid 3 for that matter....but from what I understand, the Droid 3 actually reads the 8 gigs of internal storage as "/sdcard" and the actual sd card as "/sdcard-ext".

    I'm assuming the Bionic is probably the same way.....is it possible that Titanium Backup is hardcoded to look at "/sdcard/...."? If so, this may be why it can't find your back-ups because as far as your phone is concerned, they are on "/sdcard-ext/....".

    You could try using something like Astro or ES File Explorer to confirm and copy everything over to the correct location.
  8. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    Bingo! You are 100% correct. Copied /mnt/sdcard-ext/TitaniumBackup contents to /mnt/sdcard/TitaniumBackup, refreshed app list in Titanium, reloaded the app, and everything was there. Was able to restore my app data. Thanks!
  9. Artimis
    Offline

    Artimis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome. Happy to help!

    Now I know this will work if I end up picking up the Bio :)
  10. tgs3838
    Offline

    tgs3838 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats good to hear. Hopefully tomorrow when my phone comes in ill be able to figure out how to do this lol.
  11. Spartans_08
    Offline

    Spartans_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I had this same problem!! Is there any known way to make the internal partition to have all 16 gbs available for apps? My friend has a 3 and he has this same problem with the sd card and internal storage

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  12. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    That one little difference is a PITA...need to copy my Zedge ringtone folder also...I wonder how many other apps I'll have to do this with.
  13. jgrimberg1979
    Offline

    jgrimberg1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to get titanium to recognize my SD ext. It took a little bit but I got it. I can't tell for sure what fixed it but I downloaded root toolbox and went to mount options then sdcard and then hi dual mount SD ext. And the. Ran titanium backup and went to choose backup location and then clicked search whole device and then it found the right backup folder. Again I cannot say for sure if root toolbox had anything to do with it but it works now. I don't want to use the internal SD for my backups or anything like that

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  14. Artimis
    Offline

    Artimis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It looks like you can set the backup directory location with Titanium Backup. Just press menu -> Preferences -> Backup directory location.

    So it does look like you can set it to save under /mnt/sdcard-ext/TitaniumBackup if you want.
  15. shawnn125
    Offline

    shawnn125 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone get text and call log to transfer via TB to bionic?
    i did it twice (restore system data), but nothig.
  16. xraymo3
    Offline

    xraymo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do u refresh apps list?
    N,, figured that out, but still no apps from my x..... Huhhh
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
Search tags for this page
can't restore titanium backup
,
can't restore using titanium backup
,
cannot restore app titanium backup
,
cannot restore apps titanium backup
,
cannot restore from titanium backup
,
cannot restore titanium backup
,
cant restore data w titanium back up
,
cant restore titanium backup
,

titanium backup can't restore

,

titanium backup cannot restore

,

titanium backup cannot restore apps

,
titanium backup cannot see apps
,
titanium backup cant see files sdcard
,
titanium backup restore empty
,
titanium backup unable to restore