Can't reroot droid 1 after CM install...tried everything...(help)

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dav, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi All,

    I rooted my droid 1 using the guide on this site (Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS), worked great for several weeks until ROM Manager download...

    I flashed my droid (unfortunately forgot to nandroid backup) with the latest stable cyanogenmod ROM, which caused me to lose root. I have tried many ways to get it back (including the guide on this site again), z4root, and about 5 other suggested ways, but can't do anything that gets root back. I can't find a good set of instructions to follow using the google sdk/adb.

    Sorry if i'm asking a repeat question, i've spent several nights searching and trying to find a way to do this. any help would be appreciated.

    Anyone have a suggestion for me to try to get root back?
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    What problem did you run into with the SPR guide? Do you have a functioning recovery image? If so, I have a quick update.zip flash that will give you a recovery image you can reroot your OS with basic SU permissions. That will give you the ability to install Busybox from the Market, etc.
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Oh, and in case you hadn't figured it out, CW and ROM Mangler kinda stink. More precisely they smell like old Parmesan cheese.
  4. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    too funny...yes feel like i've been punk'd by bad software...

    unforch no recovery image. have realized the importance of backups after applying CM mod. following in the footsteps of all the great noobs of the universe.
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    We were all noobs at some point. Some of us just stayed around in Noobville longer than others. :)

    So, what problems are you having with MotoCache1's guide? Because I can get you the SBF, a download of a current RSD Lite version, and the update.zip to fix recovery -- or I can get you the SBF for a more recent recovery that's just awesome. Your call. :)
  6. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    furbearingmammal...

    when i run Motocache1's guide, all seems to complete as expected...no error messages...all notifications occur exactly as described in the guide...however I do not have root. Permissions seem screwy...as sometimes there are access error messages, sometimes not...ie no error message in SetPCU however I can't overclock...ditto in using autokiller for its intended function...downloaded root check which verifies busybox installation but no root access...terminal emulator verifies su permission denied.

    as for the the offer on awesomeness, it just so happens that i dig awesomeness so YES would be grateful to get the better recovery (if you think my phone is not beyond repair in this situation)...had been hoping to get my droid 1 to the point that i could use the Cyanogenmod 1.3GHZ overclock kernel (of course with strong SetCUP levels set to drop it way down if the heat starts)...however at this point I'll be happy with getting back to root and any overclocking i can get...

    THANKS for your help and valuable time!
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I'm going to smile at the idea of getting your phone to 1.3GHz because only one in a thousand phones can go that fast. Also, there is no CyanogenMod kernel other than the stock one.

    And I'll suggest NOT using a task killer at all.

    Anyway, if you still have SPR, try flashing this update.zip. Then you can use recovery to root the phone.

    http://www.rzroms.com/droid/recovery/RZR-2.0.2/RZR-2.0.2-update.zip
  8. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK...i played around for along time...loaded the above file and wiped data, loaded root, wipe data, loaded root etc...nothing but the cyanogen mod would come up. so i used RZR to wipe all. now i have an empty droid except RZR.

    hm.

    hope i didn't jump the gun too much. hope i'm niot beyond the point of no return. any suggestions.
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You jumped the gun. It shot you in the phone. Now it is bleeding.

    Time for the rescue squad to try to save your phone. :)

    Alright, you'll have to SBF your phone back to stock and start over. Do you need the stock Verizon SBF?

    http://wonderly.com/bb/DROID/OEM/VZW_A855_FRG22D_QSC6085BP_C_01.43.01P_SW_UPDATE.sbf

    That's not the "latest" but it'll still root with z4root -- and there's no benefit to starting with the latest ROM since you're going to root and ROM it.
  10. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well...hopefully in the end it was for the better...as it was possessed by evil incompetent spirits known as CM and ROM manager.

    "rescue squad", you are my hero

    OK...new difficulties...i used the Motorola RSD lite app to try and flash the sbf file to the phone (which i placed on my c:drive, opened as read-only, and was unable to do as the "Start" button was greyed out...therefore i tried changing the sbf file name to a very short name which seemed to resolve this issue)...

    After finally being able to flash through RSD with this SBF...fizzle, the flash process failed.

    is there a way to flash the phone through RZrecovery? having not used this before an hour or so ago...not sure the best way to proceed...

    THANKS!!!!!!!!!!:)

    when we fix my phone can we flash my brain to a new ram. this will fix the phone's user issue
  11. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By the way...reg. the 1.3ghz kernel... had found thru googling to get my overclocking back...after a CM mod...that within the ROM Manager CM download menus there are "bekit kernels" available for download...lists all kinds of clockspeeds and voltages...was trying to get a 1.3ghz low voltage kernel (which is partially how i discovered the loss of root - I couldn't perform root operations whcih ROM manager required)...anyway, given my track record, probably a good thing i couldn't download it. my droid would have really sht the bed by now given my preference to behave like a noobulous jackass with it.
  12. drivinfocused
    Offline

    drivinfocused New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Niagra of the West(Twin Falls, Idaho)
    never had a problem with either...... but i would always download the update.zip for the rom from the site then do it the hard way... never liked clicking on install and letting it do it itself.... kinda that type of person.... hope your phone gets back to working order... i have a D1, i am about to go in and use it as a beta since i don't use it anymore for anything......
  13. perfoliate
    Offline

    perfoliate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Cod

    If you can get into RZrecovery I would assume you should be able to place a rom on your SD card and install it. Download a rom. There is a mount option in RZrecovery so you can transfer from your computer through usb. Then install it.
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Quite often after a wipe of this nature it's required to do a full SBF to get the phone working again. It sounds draconian but if it saves a couple hours of back-and-forth tries and failure then it's usually worth just skipping over it.

    When you say fizzled out, what happened?
  15. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RSD lite gives a "failed" status - "failed flashing process. 0x7100"

    I've been googling on this and have tried many things to get RSD Lite to work...moved file back/forth to/from C: drive, play around with file naming, check/uncheck read only, add characters to file name to compensate for some logging issue that a software engineer found, etc. argggggg

    Wonder if there is a way to flash the sbf without using RSD Lite?

    as suggested above, i tried but did not succeed in mouinting/moving the .sbf file (both as I downloaded and as a zip file named "update.zip") to the phone through RZRecovery. Not sure how I would apply it in this fashion - within the install menu I can select the update.zip file but it fails to install...within same menu I can't select the .sbf file...

    OK i'm starting to get nervous.

    THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes there is. All you need is a Linux install. You can use a live CD -- and I can provide some specific instructions to help with that -- or ADB. At least I think you can use ADB. I'm 99% sure you can use ADB, but don't quote me on that. :)

    What version of RSD Lite are you using?
  17. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    positive news...i am using RSD Lite v4.6. I had downloaded the Google SDK and have ADB...although really am not sure what I'm doing so would appreciate baby steps on how to proceed with that (if that's what you think I should do).
  18. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Okay, ADB is out -- you have to have the phone working. I was right in thinking that earlier, but for some reason (just woke up from a DESPERATELY NEEDED nap) I couldn't wrap my mind around it.

    Let's try another SBF through RSD. But first uninstall and reinstall RSD Lite. Also, what version of the Motorola drivers do you have on your PC? And what Windows are you running? (Sorry if I asked that before.)
  19. dav
    Offline

    dav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i could use a nap. being noobulous is effing exhausting.

    motorola driver package version is 4.8.0 (installer 3.8.2)...i opened the installer, ran the following processes in order: "clean only", "update drivers", "clean and reinstall".

    RSD Lite, uninstalled and reinstalled.

    Windows 7 32 bit
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Windows 7 can be tricky. Rename the SBF to "moto.sbf" and put it on the root of your C:drive and try one more time. If that doesn't work, try swapping USB ports. If you still can't get it to work then we'll try another SBF.
Search tags for this page
droid1+download su
,

how do i reroot cyanogen