Can't replace framework-res.apk???

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by sxtnitehawk, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. sxtnitehawk

    sxtnitehawk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I was following thebowers guide to changing progress bar color (and replacing some graphics while I am at it), and everything is fine until after i reboot.....

    now normally you'de expect either something to go terribly wrong (bootloop or brick) when messing with this file, or for everything to work...

    I've tried at least 30 times now to replace framework-res.apk and EVERY time, the push works fine, but when i reboot the phone, all of the changes I made are GONE from the file (verified with pull and visual check)...

    I decided to push and then pull a few times at different spots to figure out whats going on... All I know is while in recovery the new file is there and good. Once rebooted, somehow in boot up the phone reverts the file back to the original.

    from start to finish, here's what i did

    adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk
    modded files and graphics
    put new changes into apk using 7zip
    adb push framework-res.apk /system/framework/framework-res.apk

    At no time during push is there an error, the phone is literally just rejecting the changes mid-boot...

    Anyone have some idea what might be going on? I am rooted, have clockworkmod recovery, rom manager, etc...

    Thanks,

    Matt
     
  2. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure after each step your changes exist. For example do the 7zip thing. Then reopen archive in 7zip to see they are there.

    Push the new framework
    Pull it back off.
    Open it with zip -- are the changes still there?
     
  3. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Sounds odd, if everything is in place then I don't see changes being rejected, as you said something should either go terribly wrong or it should work, have you made changes using this method before with success or is this your first attempt?
     
  4. sxtnitehawk

    sxtnitehawk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I am 100% sure the changes are still there when I push / pull in recovery. Once I reboot the changes go away but until I do the changes are there...

    Yes very odd... I can't figure it out. This is my first attempt but I followed the direction posted by thebowers in the themers section... he and others have used the same process with results.
     
  5. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    What exactly are you changing and what ROM are you running ?
     
  6. sxtnitehawk

    sxtnitehawk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Status bar color codes, and battery images for status and charging... first I tried just status bar with no luck so I threw in the images for the hell of it and figured if I got lucky I wouldn't have to do it again...

    My very first attempt gave me a boot loop so I started over. Now no boot loop but it also reverts... go figure...

    Stock rom rooted frg22d

    People keep telling me to just use a custom rom but I haven't found any I like... they all have nice features but I don't like the looks...
     
    #6 sxtnitehawk, Sep 5, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2010
  7. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't mess with push/pull. Framework doesn't really like it. I always use this update.zip from the Bowers. If you know how to use 7zip its simple...? Just put your framework-res.apk in the framework folder, put on SD, and install like anything else. This one will also change any /system/app and fonts!! Its a nice tool....
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    It doesn't make sense, you have to be doing something wrong, I have never seen a successfully pushed framework reject changes made, my guess is the "overwrite" is not taking place for some reason
     
  9. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I push framework with terminal all the time and never once had a problem (except that time I pushed it into system/app on accident) I have never used ADB though

    I agree that the update.zip is always a fail safe way to go
     
  10. sxtnitehawk

    sxtnitehawk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try that tonight when I get home... nice long day today... 15hrs
     
  11. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you pull the framework off the phone after a reboot?

    How about just booting the phone without a framework file -- yes it will get stuck in a bootloop, however just then push it with adb and reboot. Ive done that before as well.

    As far as push/pull framework -- never had any problems doing it this way and then rebooting after each push.
     
  12. sxtnitehawk

    sxtnitehawk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm willing to try anything that works right now... after loads of fail for a few hours I just want to see my changes done lol
     
Search tags for this page

bootloop after changing framework-res.apk

,
bootloop while pushing framework
,

can't find framework-res

,
cant replace framework res apk
,

cant rrplace framework res core 2 boot

,
every time i pushed a frame worl i get bootlooped
,
framework bootloop android help
,

framework-res.apk boot loop

,

how to install framework res apk

,
replace framework res