1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't receive calls, home button not working, can't lock.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by iiiwildfireiii, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. iiiwildfireiii
    Offline

    iiiwildfireiii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First off, I am NOT ROOTED and I have not installed any new programs lately. Long story short, today my phone did what looked like a partial reboot or something while just laying on my desk. Afterwords, I was looking at it and noticed several problems:

    1. I cannot receive calls. I can make calls, but when anyone calls me, it will ring twice on their end and then go to voice mail. My phone does not react at all.

    2. My phone will not use the security grid. It will not enable either by widget or by going to the phones menu > security and enabling it. You can enable it, power phone off and back on and it goes right to the desktop. No lock screen period.

    3. The home and search buttons on the bottom of the phone do not function. They vibrate like they are working but will they will not do anything.

    4. And finally, when doing a long press on the power button, the airplane mode and other options do not appear. The only option available is the "Power Off" button.

    Please, if anyone has experienced this or has an idea on how to fix this issue or what caused it, please let me know.
  2. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Weird.. I don't know of any "safe mode" that it might be.. bump for a solution..
  3. iiiwildfireiii
    Offline

    iiiwildfireiii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know of someone who just posted this exact same problem today, but I believe he had it in the wrong section. I'll try and find a link for you. I wanted to get a more detailed problem here in the tech issues section to see if we could get a solution faster. This is a crazy one. My droid hasn't ever given me a fit since I bought it the week they came out.
  4. strout
    Offline

    strout New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The same thing happened to my droid this afternoon. Anyone with any ideas?
  5. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. pstpolamalu43
    Offline

    pstpolamalu43 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well im another person that had this EXACT same issue happen to me today. it seems like it was happened to many other people before, all pretty much at random times. i REALLY dont want to do a factory reset cause ill loose contacts music pics etc unless i save to my pc.

    i restarted at least 20 times today, pulled battery and all.

    Anyone with at least a reason why would be awesome.
  7. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you wont lose your contacts if you have them synced with google, and your music is on the sdcard so it will be fine
  8. iiiwildfireiii
    Offline

    iiiwildfireiii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I just went ahead and backed everything up with Astro on my SD card, then sync'd it to my PC and made a backup of THOSE backups. Crossed my fingers and pulled it like John Connor finding Skynet's power cord. It worked like a charm, although it was a little aggravating. Guess I'll have to change my reply from "Lucky" to "1" in the Factory Reset thread.

    As for the cause? ...Who knows? Kinda makes me wish it had a syslog or minidump file to review. Lulz.

    Maybe we could all post what apps we have installed and see if there is a commonality?
  9. pstpolamalu43
    Offline

    pstpolamalu43 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea late last night i went and did a factory reset. all i did was just pull my SD card and reset it, then put the card back in and all my contacts automatically came back from gmail, and all my apps came back. i didnt do anything. it was awesome.

    so worked for me. and fixed the issue.
  10. Wraith
    Offline

    Wraith New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just had to factory reset mine. Don't know why. I updated Sky Maps and Google maps last night, and about 5 other apps.

    To clarify: Same issue, search, home and no calls, as is topic. Tried reboots and battery removal, still no change.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  11. Palmyra
    Offline

    Palmyra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Just North of Columbus Ohio
    Did you update all or most of them at the same time? Or did you wait until one finished to start the other? I found in the past that Android seems to burp (how that for a tech term) if I try to update too many apps at the same time. Battery pull did fix mine.
  12. Wraith
    Offline

    Wraith New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, I DL'd 5-7 last night. I always do them at the same time. Even after I factor reset, I DL'd 4 at a time.

    Some kind of bug.

    Doncha love being a beta tester for a new product? :(

    Oh well, made me install the new background I was thinking of putting in , and cleaned up my 3 screens again.
  13. danaCreative
    Offline

    danaCreative New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I had the exact same problem and a factory reset worked for me. Thank you for posting this topic as I was panicked as to how to resolve the issue.
  14. danaCreative
    Offline

    danaCreative New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Possible Cause?

    Although I am sure the symptoms people are experiencing may be a result of various downloads, I am curious if any one else experienced their problem shorlty after downloading the NFL Mobile application from Verizon. If I had to guess the one app that hosed my phone, my money would be on that one.
  15. iiiwildfireiii
    Offline

    iiiwildfireiii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I definitely did not have the NFL program on mine. That's not to say it DIDN'T cause the issue, just that it wasn't the root (pun unintended) of mine.
  16. paramax55
    Offline

    paramax55 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine did the exact same thing today. Rooted, 2.1, no games.
    Fixed it with a factory reset. Took about 30 minutes to reinstall all of my apps.
    Last edited: May 25, 2010
  17. djochims
    Offline

    djochims New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here

    I have the same issue with my droid. The only app I've installed recently is Weatherbug Elite. Have one or two other apps but they have been on it for a month or better w/o problems. My question is if I do a farctory reset, and the apps all go away do I have to pay for them again ? I've only had my droid for a month and a half and still learning on it.
  18. paramax55
    Offline

    paramax55 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you sign into Android Market, it will remember you and what you have downloaded and/or paid for. Just press the "menu" soft key (after you start the market app) and select "downloads." Everything you have downloaded and/or paid for will be listed and you can install everything again. Just click and wait... click and wait... click and wait...
  19. iammattjones
    Offline

    iammattjones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a similar problem. Rooted Droid with Simply Stunning 3.2 installed. Just after I installed the ROM my lock button quit locking the phone. Once the screen times out and locks it self I'm able to use the lock button to turn on and off the screen. Once the screen is unlocked and back on the home screen it quits working. I've pulled the battery, wiped the data and cache partitions, and tried a couple of different ROMS to no avail. Anyone else got any ideas?
  20. iammattjones
    Offline

    iammattjones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page
android can't receive calls
,

android home button not working

,
can't receive calls android
,
droid 1 cant recieve calls
,
droid charge home button not working
,
home button doesnt work on motorola charm
,
home button not working android
,
home button on droid charge not working
,
lock key nt responding on receiving call
,
menu button not working on motorola charm
,
moto blur charm back button not working
,

motorola charm home button not working

,
motorola charm.home.button.not qorking
,
my moto charm home button did not working
,
why is someone call on my celland but i cant receive it beca