Can't re-root after 2.2.1 OTA

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jjhiza, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. jjhiza

    jjhiza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I was running Lithium Mod NG, and flashed back to stock so I could try out a new ROM. I received the notification that the 2.2.1 OTA was available, so I downloaded it, and now I can't run z4root to re-root my phone. I've tried to flash back to recovery mode, but every time I do, I only make it as far as a black screen with a white triangle, with a yellow exclamation point in it. I can't access my nandroid backups or anything. On top of that, I'm getting FCs about once every 4 or 5 minutes, and my battery won't charge past 60%. I also can't uninstall SU, and obviously, I can't use ROM Manager to reboot into recovery, nor can I run Titanium Backup to perform any functions, since I don't have root. Please! Can ANYONE help me out at all?! Thanks.
     
  2. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    The same thing happened to me the other night. I went back to stock to clean up my phone after a few months of flashing Roms. Wiped my SD card and went completely stock took the update then flashed sprecovery through rsdlite. My phone did the same thing. I had to get to recovery and mount my phone through recovery and load a rom through that method. I was able to flash the rom and all turned out well. It sounds like you have the stock recovery so you will need to use rsd to flash sprecovery than mount your SD card through sprecovery then flash a new rom with root. At least that's how I did it. I would supply some links but I am on my phone. Good luck I am sure others will help out also. All is not lost you'll fix it.
     
  3. LifeIsABeach

    LifeIsABeach Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. jjhiza

    jjhiza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's the thing, I can't get to the menu to even apply the update.zip file manually... I get through the Motorola boot image, and then nothing... just a screen with a white triangle with an exclamation mark in it.... :(
     
  5. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    The best link you will find anywhere. And as lifesabeach was getting at forget those quick root methods they always seem to cause problems in the end.
     
  6. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read the link supplied above. You definatelt sound like your at stock recovery. At the exclamation point press volume up and then camera and that will get you into recovery. READ THE LINK BEFORE GOING ANY FURTHER
     
  7. jjhiza

    jjhiza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I'm ready to run RSD, but Vista won't allow me to run it as admin. Is there a way around this?
     
  8. jjhiza

    jjhiza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Through to the application of the update.zip file, but I'm getting a "action aborted" notification. Am I doing something wrong??
     
  9. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    At what stage are you at? Have you gotten sprecovery installed yet? Have you gotten past your rsd problem with vista? Need more info.
     
  10. jjhiza

    jjhiza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. I got into SPR successfully, and brought up the correct menu. Scrolled down to "Allow update.zip Install", selected it, and hit "Install update.zip". It begins the process, but I end up getting "no such file found" and "operation aborted"....
     
  11. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    What rom are you trying to load? Did you change the name of the file to update.zip. and make sure vista doesn't change it to update.zip.zip. in sprecovery are choosing allow update than click install up date.zip. I am not at a computer and I can't boot to recovery right now to give exact names.
     
  12. jjhiza

    jjhiza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just trying to re-root my phone after the 2.2.1 OTA. I'll flash a new ROM after I'm rooted. Yes, I've renamed the file update.zip, and allowed the installation of it in SPR, but I just can't manage to get it to find the file.
     
Search tags for this page

cant re root