Can't open contacts. Force closes

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by chris1945, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted my Dx2. I don't know what happen, but I can't open and view my contacts. Error msg process com.motorola.contacts has stopped unexpectedly. Anybody have any input on this? Thank you in advance.
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    All you did was root and this happened? Did you freeze anything using Titanium? What version did you root? 2.3.4 or 2.3.5? Which root method did you use?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  3. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a friend do it for me. I'm not sure what method he used. It had something to do in the titanium back up. I'm not sure what happened.
  4. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    My guess is he froze something he shouldn't have. Do you still have Titanium Backup installed? Open it and click the "backup and restore tab" scroll through everything, are there some highlighted? I hope he didn't uninstall and he just froze them... let me know.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  5. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I could see that most of the files are in red
  6. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yes, red means system file but are any highlighted like in my screen shot? [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  7. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No not like that. Oh and it's 2.3.5
  8. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Best bet is to ask him what he did... my guess is he removed something.

    Try going to settings - applications - all, finding your contacts, click on it and clear data. If that doesn't work the next thing you would need to do is perform a SBF... or install a custom ROM.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  9. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is flashed to cricket, will I lose the flash if I do an SBF? and what would be the best ROM to install?
  10. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yes, you would lose the flash if you used an SBF... hmm as far as I know there isn't an SBF available for cricket. I'll have to look.

    Edit: I'm asking someone I know. I'll report back when I hear from him. May not be until tomorrow since its late. Sorry.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
  11. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome! thank you for the input.
  12. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    i recommend flashing DX2 ezSBF 2.3.4, it should leave your cricket radio settings alone
    but I would like to know your system version go to menu>settings>about phone>system version is it 1.3.418?
  13. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Edit: he beat me to it..... ^^ all props to mib. :)

    Use this. http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/showthread.php?p=502382

    Instructions are in the thread and this method should not touch your radio (cricket) but it should fix your problem.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  14. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    also always make a nandroid in bsr/DX2 system recovery, directly after rooting, and before making any changes
  15. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  16. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
  17. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello again...I did the SBF. I rooted the phone again. I installed Titanium again. What is the next step I should take? Run a scheduled back up of everything??
  18. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    yes check redo backups, and backup new user apps
    but really depends on what you are going to do, or trying to do
  19. chris1945
    Offline

    chris1945 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I wanted to delete or freeze some Verizon apps that I don't need. Mostly preinstalled ones.
  20. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    ok, you should also install bsr/DX2 system recovery and make a nandroid
    before freezing stuff
Search tags for this page
android can't open contacts
,
android cannot open contacts
,
android contacts force close
,

can't open contacts android

,

can't open contacts on android

,
cannot open contacts on android
,
com.motorola.contacts
,
contacts wont open android
,
droid x contacts force close
,
droid x contacts won't open
,

droid x2 contacts force close

,

process com.motorola.contacts