Can't load custom rom

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Grizz70, May 17, 2011.

  1. Grizz70

    Grizz70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a droid 1 and am new to "rooting". I successfully rooted the phone yesterday using " superoneclick" following a YouTube video. I tried installing gingerbread on it with Rom Manager. It didn't install successfully. So I went back to my back-up. Now when I try to install anything else. It downloads, restarts, then after the "M" it stops at the triangle with the "!" And stays there till I hit the volume and camera button. And manually reboot. Any ideas what to do? Any help would be nice.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Yes you didn't have a custom recovery installed properly because FRS hadn't been removed. You can try clearing cache in the stock recovery to see if you can get the backup to boot, but if not you will have to do one of two things, sbf recovery and load a ROM that way or sbf stock ROM and start over and use link one on my signature.

    Sent from my RZRecovery'd Overclocked, and ROM'd Droid.
     
  3. Grizz70

    Grizz70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I've got the back-up to boot. Everything works on the phone. It just wont let me load a new rom. All of them download. It just stops at the "!" And then I have to manually reboot it. Sorry but I'm a noob. I've only done this one other time.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Ok, you need to use ROM Manager to flash Clockwork Recovery or SPrecovery onto the phone.

    Then I would use the update.zip file from the first link in my signature so you can remove FRS and the recovery will stay there.

    Then you can reboot into recovery and load your ROM.
     
  5. Grizz70

    Grizz70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. I'm assuming its under HOW TO ROOT REGARDLESS .... I've looked thru the post and didnt see a link to update.zip. Sorry, maybe I just overlooked it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Its not called update.zip...

    It is #5 on the list of downloads you need.
     
  7. Grizz70

    Grizz70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. I looked again last night. I read thru the whole post, and I found it. Installed it and it worked like a charm. Now I'm rocking a new rom. Thanks alot for your help. Really appreciate it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

custom rom didnt load