Can't install the new update.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by shadowking, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't unroot

    Help?
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2012
  2. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Kinda need a little more info.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get failed update. I tried unrooting the phone but i couldn't. Said there was no path . I dont have any frozen apps or anything like that.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  4. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How did you try to unrooting the phone? Did you use a step-by-step tutorial?

    You are not running any custom roms or anything I assume?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the droid 4 utility. And i am running stock/ root

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  6. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    So you ran that but it never completed? And you still have superuser in your app list?

    Sorry I'm just trying to get a full picture.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It did complete and yes i still do

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  8. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get that no matter what i do
  9. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Okay so you downloaded DROID 4 utility on to your windows computer.

    Plugged in your phone.
    Ran the program.
    Chose unroot and it ran all the way through and said it was successful.

    Try doing this. Do a complete factory reset. Wipe all your data and cache.

    Try the unroot method again.

    I'm trying to do some research to help you out man. We'll get it figured out :)


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Probably a stupid question but you are making sure to allow super user like it says correct?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you so much i will give it a try and reply

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  12. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i am

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  13. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Also make sure you have debugging turned on

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  14. shadowking
    Offline

    shadowking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually got the same thing. I did everything you said.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  15. shaggykid
    Offline

    shaggykid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Bleh. This is starting to bug the s**t out if me.

    Your phone is in charge only mode correct? And you have usb debugging checked on?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

droid 4 utility 0.4