Can't Install OTA Update..

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by 03grey5, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm getting an update install fail error when I try to install the OTA update. My phone is currently rooted via Pete's root tool.

    My phone was fine up until my phone kept asking me to install the OTA update. I decided to go forward with the update as I read online that it greatly improves battery life.

    So here's the steps that I took before attempting to install the update:

    1) I entered the forever root script via text editor through the root explorer app
    2) Restarted the phone via bootstrap and wiped my cache and reset my phone
    3) Restarted my phone back to stock (entered google information, etc.)
    4) Downloaded the OTA update via Settings

    This is where I'm getting the error. After I download and try to install, the phone refuses to install the update.

    I read through the forums and figured that it was because of the frozen bloatware apps.

    5) Installed AntTek to see if I can unfreeze the frozen bloatware apps but that tab was empty (no apps were in the frozen tab).

    I have no idea where to go from here. Any help is greatly appreciated.

    I don't mind having to restart my phone and losing root and what not.

    I just want to move forward from this, re-root it, forever root and not have to worry about losing root for future OTA updates.

    Thanks in advance all.
  2. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ...Nobody can help me out?

    90 views and not reply. sounds good
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  3. jhom
    Offline

    jhom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Did you use anttek to freeze bloatware? If not, you will need to unfreeze the bloat with the method you originally used. Anttek changes the bloat files by changing the name of the file by adding _fro and the permissions.
  4. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your reply jhom.

    I did not use any software to freeze the bloatware. After I rooted and flashed a rom, I think it was unrelease rom, the bloatware was automatically removed upon restart.

    Does that mean I have to unroot my phone (which I have no problem doing)?

    Thanks,
  5. jhom
    Offline

    jhom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I'm not familar with the rom you used. You will need to find out how the rom froze the bloat and use the recommended defrost to get back the necessary bloat before you update.
  6. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so I guess the best way to fix this would be to to talk to the rom developers..

    If anybody has other suggestions, please feel free to chime in.

    Any and all help is appreciated.

    Thanks,
  7. gmorgan056
    Offline

    gmorgan056 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    How did you revert back to stock? via DHacker's unbricking tool?
  8. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    OP - If you installed a ROM the only way back is to flash.
    To install a ROM you probably used ClockWork or something else.
    You are not simply "rooted".

    Installing a ROM breaks any possibility of OTA update because you make significant changes.
    Just putting back the bloatware won't get the OTA to work.
    You will need to flash back to stock.
  9. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gmorgan056: Thanks for your reply. I didn't use any application or program to revert. I just did a wipe and I thought that would bring me back to stock but apparently I'm nowhere near being back to stock.

    tech_head: Thanks for your reply. I did use clockworkmod and pete's one click rooting method. Would you happen to know of a link that can help me flash back to stock rom?

    Thanks again!
  10. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't remember which ROM I flashed, but if it's of any help, when I boot the phone, "theory rom" bounces around..

    Thanks for putting up with my ignorance regarding the matter.
  11. gmorgan056
    Offline

    gmorgan056 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  12. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Not to blast the OP.
    PEOPLE, PLEASE DO NOT FLASH ROMS, ADD RECOVERY, REMOVE BLOAT, ETC. UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING!!!

    You will break the possibility of OTA and want to know how to get back to stock.
    If you do not know the procedure to get back to stock, before taking those actions, don't do them.
    If the stock flash file is not available, going back may not be possible.
    At least make a nandroid of the stock ROM after you install CW or some such.
    THis will at least let you revert, then you can remove CW, etc. and be back stock.
  13. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gmorgan056: Thanks, I'll check that out.

    tech_head: Yeah, I feel you. I thought I had it down since I was able to flash back and forth on my original Droid. But since I lost that phone I've been using my BB and I completely forgot how to do everything and it's all different now.

    I understand you though, I should've researched more in depth.

  14. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anybody else help me out? This is starting to get really annoying now..
  16. gmorgan056
    Offline

    gmorgan056 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    were you able to flash it back to stock and the update still isn't applying?
  17. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
  18. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would, but the link to download the .zip file is non-existent. Is there somewhere else I can get the .zip file from?

    Thanks again
  19. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
  20. 03grey5
    Offline

    03grey5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

android ota update error

,
can't download update ota
,
can't ota update droid x
,

can't ota update rooted s4

,
can't update by ota
,
cannot install ota update
,
cannot install ota update on
,
cannot update droid x ota
,
cannot update via ota after rooting
,
cant install verizon ota update galaxy s4
,
ota wont install rooted dna
,
why can't install ota rom update