Can't install .607 gb... help?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Psj77, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. Psj77

    Psj77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I try to install the update.zip, I get this error code about checking "/system/bin/logwrapper", and another error with a bunch of numbers/letters. I'm on stock .330, and I uninstalled cwm so idk why the update isn't working. Help?
     
  2. Gasai Yuno

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to restore the original logwrapper binary.
    If you would actually take some time to search for an answer with Google, you would (just like I did just now) get a lot of results telling you to:
    1. Delete /system/bin/hijack and /system/bin/logwrapper.
    2. Rename /system/bin/logwrapper.bin to /system/bin/logwrapper.
     
  3. Psj77

    Psj77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I already did that, as I debootstrapped using this thread (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...debootstrap-droid-2-global-sticky-please.html). I followed all the steps and it worked as when I try to boot into cwm from the d2 bootstap app, it doesn't work(meaning I followed the guide correctly). After doing this I tried to install the .607 update 2-3 times, and it didn't work.
     
  4. Gasai Yuno

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    The error message you get means the logwrapper is not matching the original.

    This might be due to a double installation of CWM via Droid 2 Recovery Bootstrap app.

    Basically, you installed it once by tapping Bootstrap Recovery; it backed up the logwrapper binary and installed a new one. Then you tapped it again. It backed up the new (CWM) logwrapper, erasing the old backup, and installed the same logwrapper again.
     
  5. Psj77

    Psj77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm well I tried installing the .606 gb and it worked for some reason, weird..
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic jelly bean logwrapper