Cant get z4root to work...

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by volks71folk, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ...any sugestions or good links? Thanks
  2. tgyberg
    Online

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    ^It wont work unless you are on froyo.
  3. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i get froyo? I lost my phone so i am trying to restore everything. Dont remember froyo,sugestions. thanks
  4. dewyduster
    Offline

    dewyduster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have Gingerbread? If so you Google and download DROID 3 easy root script v7.zip. It works for the DX. Rooted my phone in about 5 minutes.
  5. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure what i have. Whatever comes with the replacement (remanufacured) phones
  6. tgyberg
    Online

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Dont take this the wrong way, but are you sure you know what you are doing and wont screw up your phone? Have you read up and or rooted any other phones?
  7. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes i rooted my last phone but cant remember all the steps. I know i used z4root and 4share but cant remember the rest
  8. rubiksc00p
    Offline

    rubiksc00p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!

    Most likely gingerbread... Go into your phone settings or you can tell the the easy way, is your status bar blue?
  9. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, blue
  10. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i found a bunch of froyos, wich one should i get?
  11. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on 4share
  12. dewyduster
    Offline

    dewyduster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I forgot to mention that easy root requires a Windows based computer to root.
  13. droid2drummer
    Offline

    droid2drummer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ga...
    Well..my friend..you will NEED to SBF to get back to froyo...not to mention..SBFing will be a great tool if you plan on rooting and flashing...peace!

    One Epic Blue and Bold Cm7(otaGBK) .----->fastforward!
  14. rubiksc00p
    Offline

    rubiksc00p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    Like droid2drummer beat me to saying ;) you must sbf. There are done great guides out there just look around. Also, out is waaaay easier to use ubuntu to sbf than windows, I definitely believe in using ubuntu for sbfing! :)
  15. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i sbf?
  16. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where do i find ubunto?
  17. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i bought my new droid that i lost , i rooted that and it did not seem this dificult. But please help me thrue this. Thanks
  18. rubiksc00p
    Offline

    rubiksc00p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    There's a good guide over on the droidx forums website. If you still can't find it, let me know and I'll give it to you! ;) there is plenty of stuff available on the topic, you should have no problem. I'm not trying to be mean but if you have a question, most likely it's been asked before, just look around! :p
  19. volks71folk
    Offline

    volks71folk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do i do ubunto server .rar or png?
  20. droid2drummer
    Offline

    droid2drummer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ga...
    Well if you want to do it the way I do...
    1...Dl the sbf file for your device via your computer..sbf verizon full not system only the full sbf...
    2... Dl the latest or any rsdlite..I use 4.9....
    3...make sure you have the latest drivers...moto
    4...open the rsdlite on your desktop
    5..unzip the sbf file into the rsdlite program folder(or whichever you put in ...
    6..push the three little... and then plug your phone in...
    7..get into bootloader holding your power and up...I think on dX??
    Then click start button...
    8...don't touch the phone until it says reboot manually....
    9..It will most probably bootloop...Pull battery get to stock recovery and wipe the data and reset....reboot and welcome to out of box froyo on your kick ass DX!
    Peace!
    Btw...I'm sure you will need to be in bootloader before clicking the three dots but I don't always...lol
    Also...it is vital..you HAVE A FULLY CHARGED BATTERY!
    It may take 10 minutes for the entire booting........
    If you need anything...shoooooooot!

    One Epic Blue and Bold Cm7(otaGBK) .----->fastforward!
Search tags for this page
cant get z4root to work
,
how do i get z4root to work
,

how to get z4root to work

,
how to make z4 root work
,
how to make z4 work?
,
how to make z4root work
,
z4root replacement