Can't get wifi to work at home

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by loboblanco, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. loboblanco
    Offline

    loboblanco New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I have wifi in my office, punched in the password, works perfectly.

    I have wireless at home through a cable modem and wireless router. Use a wireless laptop at home every day. But when I punched in the password (and yes I verified it is the correct password) it just doesn't connect. Anyone else have this problem? Could this be because of security from the cable company? When I originally set up my laptop I had to plug it in to the router before it would work wirelessly. I need to use my wifi at home because I get a lousy 3g signal inside!
  2. normbarb
    Offline

    normbarb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gainesville, VA
    I, also, cannot get my WiFi to connect at home. I keep getting a message that the connection is unsuccessful. I have two laptops connected. It is 802.11/g with WEP encryption. The encryption is correct in the phone. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Norm
  3. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Mine connects immediately and I also use WEP. All I can say is click on your wifi settings in your phone and double check everything. It should list your wifi network (maybe just the router brand itself) in there. You could also down some wifi apps that will check available networks and make sure yours is showing up.
  4. Donkey Hodie
    Offline

    Donkey Hodie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ditto what mjs31 said, I use WEP and connecting to the network was easy. I enabled wifi, my networked showed up, typed in my wep password and was connected. It automatically reconnects every time I enable wifi on the phone.
  5. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    Mine works fine and I use WPA2. For those still running WEP, you do realize that has been broken wide open, right? You really need to move on to WPA2 if all of your equipment supports it. Any scriptboy hacker can drive up in front of your house and own your WEP network and completely violate everything on it within a few minutes. If you must use WEP because of old devices you should add MAC addressing, though that's not a real barrier for a true hacker.
  6. jaysonstaurt
    Offline

    jaysonstaurt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like your router is having a hard time assigning your droid an ip. Try and reboot both of them and see of that helps.
  7. eversonsc
    Offline

    eversonsc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    My issue is totally different. Mine will actually connect and has been connecting just fine for 3 weeks but as of yesterday it won't load any data. It's connected but acts like it isn't. I've tried rebooting, taking the battery out etc and I still can't get it to load anything. I'm guessing I'll have to take it back for my 2nd replacement (the first phone rebooted constantly)
  8. Donkey Hodie
    Offline

    Donkey Hodie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I live on 12 acres in the middle of effin' nowhere, my driveway is 1/4 mile long surrounded by hills on both sides. Scriptboy hackers aren't a worry.

    Having said that, if I lived in a city or the burbs, I'd change.
  9. normbarb
    Offline

    normbarb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gainesville, VA
    I logged into my router and reconfigured the SSID and encryption (to the original values) and my Droid now connects. Thanks for the help.

    Norm
Search tags for this page

cant get wifi to work

,
how to connect my nextbook to wifi
,
how to connect nextbook to wifi
,
how to get wifi on nextbook
,
i cant get my wifi to work
,

my nextbook wont connect to wifi

,

nextbook 2 wifi wont connect

,
nextbook connecting to wifi
,

nextbook wifi

,

nextbook wifi setup

,

nextbook wont connect to wifi

,
why wont my nextbook connect to wifi