1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't get to any recovery mode

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by nemo74, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. nemo74
    Offline

    nemo74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey,

    I have searched the forums, and google and came up with nothing so, I am seeking the forum help.

    I have a rooted droid and running the UD rom. Everything was cool and I was going to switch over to the new SS rom. I was cleaning up my sd card by deleting junk and empty folder...I think I may have deleted something that was needed.

    When i restart my phone it will load no problem. If I try to use clockwork to reboot to recovery it just sits at the M forever. If I just do a power down and then hold x, power up I get nothing, just an M forever.

    Any ideas how to get my recovery mode back? I tried to flash to an alternate recovery and back to clockwork and nothing.

    I am out of ideas, so any pros out there please help.
  2. nemo74
    Offline

    nemo74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump I need to get my phone fixed
  3. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Did you try to reflash the recovery?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. nemo74
    Offline

    nemo74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you mean reflashing from clockwork to another and back like I said I did, then yes. If there is another way, than no.
  5. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    in RM, try flashing between alternate recoveries several times. i've had this problem before, and it can take several times for the recovery to "take." Abe from RS says that if it takes any longer than 3 seconds or so to get a "successful" message that CWM has been flashed, then it probably didn't take.

    if that doesn't work, then you may need to reflash the recovery by .sbf'ing it. here's a link to a thread for Raidzero's new recovery - it's very nice!! http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ra...-based-update-zips-battery-charging-more.html
  6. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    in rm's options there is an option to "erase recovery" before flashing. Enable this and see if it helps?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    noooooooooo!
  8. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I had a problem with cwm recovery sticking on my 1st droid(one before my current warranty replacement) and I selected it and it flashed successfully first time? Should I not have done this?


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    i'm not sure what you mean; but, selecting CWM isn't the issue, i don't think.

    when you go into RM, under Flash Alternate Recovery, is SPRecovery 0.99.3b listed?? if so, select that, and try to boot into recovery. let's see if you can at least boot into SPR...
  10. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Rm>menu button>settings>erase recovery before flashing

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    don't do that. do what i suggested, and see if you can boot into SPR.
  12. nemo74
    Offline

    nemo74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for the long delay work was busy today. The suggestion that huskerkate said worked like a charm, I followed the directions from the link and it was great. Thanks bunches!!!dancedroid