Can't get tether?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by 19psi, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. 19psi
    Offline

    19psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have tried a couple of different tethering apps but none of them actually let me tether.
    I am rooted.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,675
    Likes Received:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    You tried foxfi and the tether hack and it didn't work?
  3. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    The most reliable way is to hack the Mobile Hotspot app ... SQLite Editor is $2.99 in the Store :)
  4. 19psi
    Offline

    19psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    So there is something else that needs to be done in addition to getting the app?
    I have one click tether and some other one.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. aktrazer
    Offline

    aktrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Matty is right, SQLite is the best way but FoxFi works fine without any rooting. Just download the app
  6. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Yes, there is ... after you get the app I can give you instructions on what to do. Takes 2 minutes. :)
  7. 19psi
    Offline

    19psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I just downloaded fox fi and it's working fine. Thanks guys.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  8. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    No problem :) Glad you got it working.
  9. Bobvs
    Offline

    Bobvs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, I've had the same problems with WiFi Tether. I've downloaded SQLite, now how to I make WiFi Tether work?
  10. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    242
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    FWIW, they released a new beta of the WIFI tether for root users today that now works with ICS.
  11. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Here is how I did it VIA instructions I don't remember who but thanks to them lol

    1. Open SQLITE Editor
    2. Scroll down to "Settings Storage"(one with hammer and wrench)
    3. settings.db
    4. settings
    5. scroll down to #79 should be "Entitlement check"
    6. Over on the right press and hold on the number one.
    7. Edit Field and change "1" to "0" (Zero).
    8. Save and reboot phone.

    For me it's taken about a minute or two for it to finally connect the first time. Oh and this is for the "Verizon Mobile Hotspot"
  12. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    It is asking for the mac address of my wireless connection on my PC?
    Where do I find it?
    edit---I found it....I assume it is the "Physical Address" listed for the wireless adapter when I run ipconfig /all from the cmd box on my PC.

    My PC is asking for the security key, but in Verizon Mobile Hotspot I do not see this?
    edit----I found it...i was just on the wrong page.

    Pretty good.... I posted and fixed my problem while I was reading information and waiting for a reply.

    Broke the cardinal rule....before posting..
    Read, Read Again, Read Again, and Read Again.....then post

    ..
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  13. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    And Verizon does not know I am using their Hotspot connection software?
  14. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Glad it worked :icon_ banana: and to be honest I'm not sure lol. Maybe some one with a little more knowledge can help answer that.
Search tags for this page
android can't tether
,
android update can't tether
,
can t get droid to tethering
,
cannot get my rooted droid 1 to tether
,

cannot tether android

,
cannot usb tether android anymore
,
cant get htc to tether
,
cant tether htc
,

droid razr maxx tethering and mobile hotspot sqlite-editor

,
htc cannot tethering
,
motorola cant tethering in mac