Can't get root with stock 2.2

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by wgoeken, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. wgoeken
    Offline

    wgoeken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got my replacement DX... I've been trying to gain root access (both with a Mac and a Windows computer) and haven't been able to do so (I've been using the "doroot" method).

    On the Mac side, it just tells me that it fails to get root access.
    On the Windows side, it hangs on "Checking for devices..."

    Anyone have any answers?
  2. the5barrons
    Offline

    the5barrons New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    The "no pc" version via Terminal Emulator and Astro was much easier than fiddling with the potential differences. I'm not saying it isn't easy, but I can say that I messed with trying the ADB route on my PC and just got riddled with driver issues and such. There is a thread that is step by step for the DX and is much easier.
  3. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    ROOTED in my sig will help you do this without anything on a computer (besides transferring teh files)
  4. the5barrons
    Offline

    the5barrons New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    and there you go...
  5. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol thats what i figured u were referring to - just provided the link :)
  6. the5barrons
    Offline

    the5barrons New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    That is the link I used.
  7. wgoeken
    Offline

    wgoeken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I made it to the "./rage*.bin" step, and it ended up with:
    [-] Cannot find adb: No such file or directory
  8. the5barrons
    Offline

    the5barrons New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Everything is case sensetiive and if it has a space, you definitely need to put the space in when you type.

    You're doing option A?
  9. wgoeken
    Offline

    wgoeken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everything I'm typing is lowercase, and I'm certainly putting spaces where they belong.

    And yes, I'm trying option A.
  10. wgoeken
    Offline

    wgoeken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I decided that I'd give option C a shot, but I can't figure out the password for the archive that I downloaded. *sigh*

    EDIT: Sorry for the double post.
  11. beleau
    Offline

    beleau New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just did this an hour ago, had the exact same problem, rebooted phone, started over=worked perfectly:)
  12. wgoeken
    Offline

    wgoeken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks... I'll give that a shot. Don't know why I didn't try that yet...

    EDIT
    I've rebooted and tried it again a couple of times, and it has made no difference.
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010
  13. beleau
    Offline

    beleau New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    let us know if it works, i have no idea why it did....but it did.
  14. beleau
    Offline

    beleau New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    by the way i used option a, i was stock 2.2
  15. wgoeken
    Offline

    wgoeken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still no beans.
  16. beleau
    Offline

    beleau New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well that blows. are you sure you are using case sensitive? there are a couple of characters that are caps, and also not using zero for an o maybe?
  17. wgoeken
    Offline

    wgoeken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cd /tmp
    cp /sdcard/download/rage*.bin /tmp/
    chmod 777 rage*.bin
    ./rage*.bin


    None of this is capital or 0/o
  18. beleau
    Offline

    beleau New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah your right, i was looking later in the steps. it all looks right to me but makes no sense why its not working...weird
  19. beleau
    Offline

    beleau New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and you started back from step 1 again?
  20. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    shot you a PM..