Can't get into recovery

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by BruceW1980, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. BruceW1980
    Offline

    BruceW1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I updated to Froyo today on my rooted droid. I went to make a backup using Clockwork Mod, but got stuck in a boot loop. I can't get past the blinking eye. "No problem", I thought. "I was smart I made a backup. I'll reboot into recovery and use my backup". I pulled the battery, powered up while holding "X", and got stuck on the Motorola Boot. I tried it twice more with the same result. Any idea how to fix this?
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,388
    Likes Received:
    997
    Trophy Points:
    113
    it take awhile to load up past the blinking eye. normally when it gets there it will load up. if it freezes it normally does that at the M. try to load it up again
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,388
    Likes Received:
    997
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Let me know if that works.... not saying you not having a prob, but I was bout to do a battery pull myself, but ran to do something real quick, came back and it finally loaded.
  4. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,060
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    This seems to be an issue with clockwork. Can you get to the boot loader? Maybe flash the sprecovery sbf with rsd.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. spiceditup
    Offline

    spiceditup New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I had the same problem after the Froyo upgrade. I fixed the problem by downgrading my CWM (Rom Manager) to 1.8.1.1 instead of the newer 1.8.1.4.

    Hope this works for you.
  6. sudermatt
    Offline

    sudermatt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running FY 1.2

    I cannot boot to Clockwork recovery either.

    I've tried to Flash SP Recovery and back to CW but it still doesn't work.

    This is definitely a problem
  7. BruceW1980
    Offline

    BruceW1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I let it sit on the blinking eye for my drive home (about half an hour) and still having the same problem.
  8. LVGDroidFan
    Offline

    LVGDroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This seems to be an issue with 2.2.

    You need to flash SPRecovery from Rom Manager, boot into recovery, then reboot and re-flash Clockwork (it may take a few tries for this to work).

    This solved the problem for me.
  9. BruceW1980
    Offline

    BruceW1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the help everyone. Some of the suggestions weren't possible because the phone wouldn't boot at all. I couldn't get into recovery either. I ended up flashing SPRecovery using RSD lite. One I did that, I was able to reload my past back-up. I'll try FRYO again when I have more time.
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,388
    Likes Received:
    997
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yeah 20 mins was too long, I was thinking you was not giving it time. Someone on another thread had the same issue. There are two fixes. Rsdlite (which you did) or flashing a previous nandroid file.
  11. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi...I am having a similar problem. Went from Petes V1.1 to the 1st Froyo, then back to Petes V1.1 and then to pete's froyo v.01.

    Everything seemed fine but then I restored some apps from Mybackup Pro and it asked me to reboot.

    I tried but it went to a boot loop...goes from the droid to the eye and over and over...

    Then I tried to boot into recovery (power and X).. It just stays on the M logo and starts that over every 20 seconds or so.

    I will reading this thinking I should flash sprecovery again but if I plug my phone into the PC it turns on and goes to the boot loop.

    I was going to try to flash sprecovery using droid-life's instructions but the 1st step is to turn phone off...I can't do that.

    am I going in the right direction?

    I would like to get back to recovery and install a nandroid backup.
  12. DroidxRage
    Offline

    DroidxRage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Go to ROM manager, and re-flash clockwork recovery twice... no need to flash SP recovery

    That will get you back to your recovery image... :)
  13. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestion but I can't boot up regular either. Thats the droid, eye bootloop...
  14. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump.......
  15. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok - got boot loader to run with lots of trial and error. Flashed sprecovery back to phone
  16. dmt316
    Offline

    dmt316 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    im stuck at the m, cant get to recovery and have a mac.....
  17. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you have my problem exactly? I think when I went to the 1st froyo or when I went to BB Froyo it took away my sprecovery.

    Since it was in a boot loop it took a lot of trial and error to get the bootloader screen (I had to have the phone hooked up to my PC and push my battery (low battery from all the boot loops) in as I was pushing power and up on the d pad)...took several tries.
    Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

    I then flashed sprecovery back on. Downloaded the 2.1 rooted update zip, transfered to the sd card, installed.
    That booted but a bunch of system files were still corrupt or missing so I had no 3g, wireless, or cell service.
    Tried redoing the baseband update but was no help.
    Downloaded Petes new froyo to PC, transferred to droid and reinstalled using sprecovery.

    That actually loaded with what seemed to be a few small issues. I downloaded rom manager. Flashed a clockwork recovery (just in case).
    Then I installed one of my backups BBv1.1 from rom manager.

    Seems to work perfectly again and I think I will wait a while before trying froyo or petes froyo...This problem set me back 3 hours!
  18. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Crap...just reread your problem after spewing all my fixes!

    Do you have bootcamp or parallels with windows?
    You can run the droid-life directions for sprecovery if so...

    Good luck!