1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't get fastboot on Mac to see droid a855's.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by aarons510, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. aarons510
    Offline

    aarons510 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using a MacBook (OS 10.6.8) with fastboot installed. It works when I use it with a Kindle Fire. I have not one, but three, factory cables, all of which (1) work with the Kindle Fire and (2) seem to work with my two broken-touchscreen a855 droids. I'm pretty sure that I've been able to get the droids into fastboot mode with the factory cable (and, in one case, without it) since (a) the info shown for the droids by System Profiler on the MacBook is very different when I boot with the factory cable (or boot holding down the volume down button) than what it is when I boot normally and connect with a normal cable and (b) I can boot with the factory cable without the battery installed.

    But when I run fastboot the way I successfully run it to access the Kindle Fire, it doesn't recognize that the Droid is there. I've tried:
    Code:
    fastboot devices
    fastboot -i 0x22b8 reboot
    fastboot -i 0x22b8 reboot-bootloader
    fastboot -i 0x22b8  getvar product
    and all of the last three without '-i 0x22b'.
    It hangs either with no message or with the line:
    < waiting for device >
    until I press ^c, and sometimes I actually have to close the Terminal window to get out of it.

    Is there something different I need to do to get fastboot on the Mac to recognize the Droids?
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,236
    Likes Received:
    504
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    I never used fastboot on my a855. I always just used adb. If you have adb setup, type "adb devices" & it'll show the phone. At least that's how it is on my windows xp, don't know if it's the same for a mac.
  3. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    When I use fastboot on my Mac, I have to start fastboot commands as "./fastboot-mac" instead of just "fastboot" like it is with Windows.
  4. aarons510
    Offline

    aarons510 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have fastboot in a directory in my UNIX PATH. If I didn't, I would have gotten a 'command not found' response regardless of what arguments I had given to the command, and it wouldn't have worked with the Kindle Fire.
  5. aarons510
    Offline

    aarons510 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried adb devices with each combination of cable, device, etc., that I tried fastboot with and got an empty 'List of devices attached'. Problem is that I can't, yet, navigate in Settings to where I can enable USB Debugging. If you know of a way to enable it without using the touch screen, let me know.

    Anyway, I still want to know how to get fastboot to work, even if I get adb to work as well.
Search tags for this page
can't get motorola milestone x2 into fastboot mode
,
苹果-bash: fastboot: command not found
,

fastboot device mac

,
fastboot devices not found mac
,
fastboot mac can't see devices
,
fastboot mac s4
,
fastboot mac waiting for device
,
fastboot mac waiting for devices
,

fastboot on mac

,

fastboot showing waiting for device osx

,
how to put motorola a855 into fastboot
,
kindle fire fastboot waiting for device mac
,
mac fastboot does not recognize device
,
mac fastboot no device
,
motorola a855 fastboot recovery