cant get 2.1 ota after using sbf

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tktouch12, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used rsdlite to flash the 2.0.1 sbf onto my droid to wipe it clean since I might trade phones with my dad and I had it rooted. It worked, but I went to settings>status>system update and it says my phone is up to date. But I'm not, I'm on 2.0.1 and I should get the 2.1 update. I've never had this problem before and I've done this several times.
    What's wrong and how can I fix this?
    Thanks
  2. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this could be a dumb question but did it activate correctly?
  3. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, that is a good question. It didn't make me activate my phone like it usually does. I didn't have to dial *228 and what not. But my phone works. My data works and my calls, so I can figure out.
  4. Xerozix
    Offline

    Xerozix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I'm actually starting to think that Verizon has cut off the 2.1 upgrades from 2.0.1 for now, until Froyo comes out (Next week or so?)

    In any case, look for the 2.1 SBF.
  5. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
  6. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if I do the manual update.zip, I am still stock? And ill receive 2.2? And vzw won't think I'm rooted or anything?

    Or if I wait for froyo to be pushed, will I get that ota and be fine?

    Thanks for the help. That's weird that they quit sending them.
  7. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u wont be rooted and you should get the 2.2 update if u manualy update.u might want to remove any signs of you bieng rooted from your sdcard like busybox
  8. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok good, then i'll manually do that. and i dont send in my sdcard, so it shouldnt matter. and i factory reset before so they dont see any root apps
  9. eRockSRT05
    Offline

    eRockSRT05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my same question atm. I'm waiting for my 2.2 update after i flashed back to 2.0.1 and i'm worried if i do the Update.zip file that it will not let me download the 2.2 update OTA this week!

    So sorry for the repost but is everyone 100% sure that i WILL get the 2.2 update if i flashed back to 2.0.1 and then do the Update.zip manual install?
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,375
    Likes Received:
    990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yes but in the unroot stick thread in our section. there is an official 2.1 if you want to install it.
  11. jlamb30
    Offline

    jlamb30 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Park, GA
    Would you be so kind as to linky to it, so I don't do something stupid?
  12. eRockSRT05
    Offline

    eRockSRT05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So i've decided that i'm actually just going to sit on the lame 2.0.1 right now till i get the wonderful notification that i have recieved my 2.2 update! dancedroid
  13. JBPruitt
    Offline

    JBPruitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    You know... there are a few ways to gain root access right into 2.1...

    There's really not any reason to go back to 2.0.1 just to gain root...
  14. eRockSRT05
    Offline

    eRockSRT05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've decided rooting is not for me. Not that i cant handle it, i'm just too lazy!

    I'd like to just go back to bone stock, wait for the update, and be happy with what VZW/Motorola will provide me with. And also just in case i do ever need to send it back i'd like it to be as it should be.
  15. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England

    All of the links are in this thread right now.

    Link 3 in my signature. Use RSD Lite to flash to stock 2.01 and if the phone doesn't update then use the link in my previous post to manually install the 2.1 update.

    There is no busybox or other root tools to uninstall. The stock 2.01 file is just that...a stock build of the phone, just like it came from the factory then.
  16. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England

    Correct, there are a couple of methods of rooting.

    And I can think of one good reason to go back to 2.01 to gain root and that would be that the phone got so messed up that you felt a fresh start would be better.

    In most cases a flash of the sprecovery sbf file would put you into a good position to reapply a rooted rom though.