1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't for the life of me root my 2.1 droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Ath315t, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Ath315t
    Offline

    Ath315t New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    315
    I have been here, droid-life, android forums, and Google searched the holy hell out of rooting my 2.1. I had a different phone that I lost that I had rooted at 2.0.1. I've tried using rsd lite woth no avail. It either wont let me start and now it can't even tell my phone is connected. I'm running vista which is probably the main issue. I'm trying to root to put foryo on, but am pissed. Not to mention I'm using the phone to connect to the net which takes up so much time. Someone please help. I live around Rochester and Syracuse Ny and will drive if someone can guarantee results. Or if you could help me get around rsd lite. I'm not computer illiterate by any-means. I can't open rsd in admin, but I've tried everything you can see on the net.
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  2. kpiskin
    Offline

    kpiskin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in the same boat mate. However, I think I'll wait for a later version to come out considering all the stuff that still doesn't work on it. It's not ready for Droid prime-time.
  3. wild1210
    Offline

    wild1210 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. skourg3
    Offline

    skourg3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have the Motorola drivers installed on your computer for your phone? There are both 32-bit and 64-bit drivers available, use whichever is appropriate for you. I don't have links for them handy, but you can find them around these forums somewhere. That could be why RSDLite wont find your phone.
  5. Kmart95
    Offline

    Kmart95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    To run rsd lite as administrator on vista you need to navigate to Computer>Local Disk C:>Program Files>Motorola>RSD Lite, then when you get there right click on SDL.exe and select run as administrator. And it should open rsd lite with admin access.
  6. mithu
    Offline

    mithu New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    De, USA
    hmmm. It seems that u dont have Admin priv on ur user account. Is the computer ur personal or like shared?