1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

cant flash

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by fuelcell, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am unable to boot in sprecover and rsdlite does not recogize the phone either. it worked for a long time but ever since I put this new rom on i cant boot into recovery. in addition rsdlite is not finding the phone either..
    thanks, in advance.
  2. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Are you holding up on the directional pad to get into the bootloader? If not, RSD won't see the phone.

    What ROM is making you unable to get into SPRecovery?
  3. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when you say up, you mean towards the screen or towards the top of the phone? i cant remember which rom this is because i installed it months ago but in my about phone it says baseband version C-01.3E.03P kernel version 2.6.32.9 p3droid@myDroidWorld #1 build number voles-userdegub 2.2 FRFxx 49593 test-keys does that help?

    when i try to reboot holding the dpad or the x button it just keeps restarting until i dont hold it and then it boots normal. no recovery mode..
  4. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To get into the boot loader (if you're holding your phone in landscape), hold the d-pad up (toward screen) and press the power button.
  5. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    should i have rsd open and then re boot and hold as you suggest?
  6. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok boot loader worked pushing up. now i have to figure out which file to use
  7. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have one called moto-droid2.01stock.sbf and another file called SPRRecoveryESE81.sbf either of those sound right
  8. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, i tried both and both failed. unable to retrieve initialization values from INI file...

    ??
  9. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    fuelcell... the ROM you have is the stock 2.2. Are you sure you still even have root?
  10. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wifi tether works
  11. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i guess im not 100% sure, but how do i get back to stock or a flashable mode....
  12. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Well it really seems like you are stock but before progressing it's good to know for sure. Do you have any "root required" apps on your phone? Superuser, root explorer, SetCPU, etc..? If so, can you open them?
  13. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in rsd lite under model it says SE Flash OMAP3430 MI and under status it says Platform is not defined for CDMA_TYPE-OMAP_chipset

    I guess maybe im not rooted, though i think it is cause when i go into privacy and try to do a hard reset nothing happens.
  14. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have setcpu and superuser. let me see if i can open them
  15. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, so when i open super user I see barnacle wifi, setcpu, rommanager and they all have a green dot next to them.
  16. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    OK so it seems you have root still. One last check. You have a terminal emulator on your phone?
  17. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont otherwise i would have tried to do it via terminal emulator and the phone no longer has access to the market cause im on my new X now... just trying to get the phone back to stock for the wifey..
  18. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there a way to access terminal on the phone via PC?
  19. fuelcell
    Offline

    fuelcell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i guess i could just leave it root, when i push her phone number to the phone what will it do? i guess i could just erase my contacts and whatnot..
  20. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    All you are trying to do is unroot the phone? You should have been able to flash that sbf file using RSD Lite. If it's not working, try to download a good 2.1 sbf file.

    Get into the bootloader like you did earlier and try again I would say.