Can't Decide Which Recovery Image to Use?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by adrynalyne, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Easily Switch Between Recovery Images (Requires Busybox)

    Requires Busybox.


    Why choose when its easy to switch?


    Ok, so koush has his clockwork recovery image which is very nice. However, support from most devs goes to sprecovery.

    I've set up a script that installs two other scripts, so that you can flash either of them, in seconds, just by accessing su and typing one of two commands:

    clkwrk
    sprcvry

    This is probably going to be of more interest to the power users and devs, but here ya go!


    rcimage.zip



    Unzip the files all to the base of your sdcard.

    Then, follow these easy commands:

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    dd if=/sdcard/rcimage of=/data/local/rcimage
    cd /data/local
    chmod 755 rcimage
    ./rcimage
    

    Thats it. Both commands should now be at your disposal. I have tested this via adb, but not via the terminal emulator. This is considered highly beta and I am not responsible for your phone turning into a smoldering chunk of coal, or your Droid eloping with your cat!
  2. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This script is a good concept -- however my only problem is that I don't want these files cluttering up the root directory or /sdcard directory. If I could run them from a different directory I would (but an easy script modification could be done to change this!!)
  3. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only files that need to stay there after install are the two recovery images. I kind of hoping a dev will pick up on this and start putting it into their rom. Its a win win situation.
  4. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Why not put these scripts in /system/bin? Otherwise when you wipe data you are going to have to do this all over again.
  5. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They are in /system/xbin.

    The rcimage script runs from /data/local and copies them from the sdcard and puts them there.

    Thank google for their infinite wisdom thT you cannot run scripts from the sd card. At least, I couldn't.

    The real issue is that each new rom install erases it. Thats why I was kind of hoping the devs could do something like this for their ROMs.
  6. unix.punkx
    Offline

    unix.punkx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Nice! I'm curious to try koush's recovery image and his ROM
  7. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct. You cannot mark files as executable because the SD Card is formatted as Fat32. You can get around this by typing "sh /sdcard/script_to_run", but that's a pain. The other option is to put scripts on the /data partition - but that's effectively the same problem as putting them in /system.

    Can you post more information about this clockwork recovery image? This is the first I've heard of it and I'm curious. Is there a web page for it or some screen shots?
  8. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Terminal commands for this

    Here is the terminal commands for anyone wanting to do this that way.

    Code:
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    busybox cp -R /sdcard/rcimage /data/local/rcimage
    cd /data/local
    chmod 755 rcimage
    ./rcimage
  10. hydrogenman
    Online

    hydrogenman Guest

    Or, why not just get Developers to use the superior recovery image, Clockwork
  11. swcc50
    Offline

    swcc50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach
    can someone help me remove clockwork recovery from my droid.
  12. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just flash back sprecovery!!!
  13. rednukleus
    Offline

    rednukleus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're a hero. My Droid and my cat are just friends.
  14. mjones1052
    Offline

    mjones1052 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    There is nothing really wrong with either of them. The only problem is that they are incompatible with eachother. Thats the only thing stopping people. I think we need to set up Koush and Sir Psycho on a blind date and maybe they will make recovery image babies and they will be beautiful.
  15. brokali
    Offline

    brokali New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i wanted to try the clockwork but everytime i flashed it when i went into it threw errors and no background image
  16. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Download Rom Manager from the market. Its the easiest way to do most things with the clockwork recovery. It also flashes it for you.
  17. brokali
    Offline

    brokali New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I tried that and manually switching both gave me a string of can't load and a few other errors... I think a have bigger problems though as well because when I format system data cache through adb in recovery tells me I have a. Bad block
  18. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    +1 for this LOL!! haha, unfortunately unlikely... :(
  19. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas

    Attached Files:

  20. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    so I tried to flash sprecovery just now and released after installing koushes newest rom that sprcvry was not installed. I had to do the process again, but since clockwork has failed to restore a backup I have made successfully I want a sprecovery backup just in case.

    -=Jason=-