Can't Decide Which Recovery Image to Use?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by adrynalyne, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Easily Switch Between Recovery Images (Requires Busybox)

    Requires Busybox.


    Why choose when its easy to switch?


    Ok, so koush has his clockwork recovery image which is very nice. However, support from most devs goes to sprecovery.

    I've set up a script that installs two other scripts, so that you can flash either of them, in seconds, just by accessing su and typing one of two commands:

    clkwrk
    sprcvry

    This is probably going to be of more interest to the power users and devs, but here ya go!


    rcimage.zip



    Unzip the files all to the base of your sdcard.

    Then, follow these easy commands:

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    dd if=/sdcard/rcimage of=/data/local/rcimage
    cd /data/local
    chmod 755 rcimage
    ./rcimage
    

    Thats it. Both commands should now be at your disposal. I have tested this via adb, but not via the terminal emulator. This is considered highly beta and I am not responsible for your phone turning into a smoldering chunk of coal, or your Droid eloping with your cat!
     
  2. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This script is a good concept -- however my only problem is that I don't want these files cluttering up the root directory or /sdcard directory. If I could run them from a different directory I would (but an easy script modification could be done to change this!!)
     
  3. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    The only files that need to stay there after install are the two recovery images. I kind of hoping a dev will pick up on this and start putting it into their rom. Its a win win situation.
     
  4. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why not put these scripts in /system/bin? Otherwise when you wipe data you are going to have to do this all over again.
     
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    They are in /system/xbin.

    The rcimage script runs from /data/local and copies them from the sdcard and puts them there.

    Thank google for their infinite wisdom thT you cannot run scripts from the sd card. At least, I couldn't.

    The real issue is that each new rom install erases it. Thats why I was kind of hoping the devs could do something like this for their ROMs.
     
  6. unix.punkx

    unix.punkx Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice! I'm curious to try koush's recovery image and his ROM
     
  7. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct. You cannot mark files as executable because the SD Card is formatted as Fat32. You can get around this by typing "sh /sdcard/script_to_run", but that's a pain. The other option is to put scripts on the /data partition - but that's effectively the same problem as putting them in /system.

    Can you post more information about this clockwork recovery image? This is the first I've heard of it and I'm curious. Is there a web page for it or some screen shots?
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
  9. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Terminal commands for this

    Here is the terminal commands for anyone wanting to do this that way.

    Code:
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    busybox cp -R /sdcard/rcimage /data/local/rcimage
    cd /data/local
    chmod 755 rcimage
    ./rcimage
     
  10. hydrogenman

    hydrogenman Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Or, why not just get Developers to use the superior recovery image, Clockwork
     
  11. swcc50

    swcc50 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Beach
    Ratings:
    +0
    can someone help me remove clockwork recovery from my droid.
     
  12. kevdog

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just flash back sprecovery!!!
     
  13. rednukleus

    rednukleus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You're a hero. My Droid and my cat are just friends.
     
  14. mjones1052

    mjones1052 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is nothing really wrong with either of them. The only problem is that they are incompatible with eachother. Thats the only thing stopping people. I think we need to set up Koush and Sir Psycho on a blind date and maybe they will make recovery image babies and they will be beautiful.
     
  15. brokali

    brokali Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i wanted to try the clockwork but everytime i flashed it when i went into it threw errors and no background image