1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't boot phone into recover

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by openminds, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I have searched on here for over an hour now. Every thread says boot into recover, but mine doesn't seem to do it.

    I hold down x and hold power button - White M comes up then shuts down - repeats

    I hold down x and tap power button - White M comes up then shuts down - repeats.

    What am I doing wrong, or what keep my phone from booting into recovery mode?

    Droid 2.1.1
  2. yamaha83
    Offline

    yamaha83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are you rooted? if so you might have a bad flash of the recovery... you could use rom manager to flash to a diffrent recovery and then back to the recovery you wanna use to make sure you have a good install...
  3. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, should have mentioned, not rooted
    Most I've really done is install astro file mngr and LauncherPro.
  4. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    If you are not rooted, may I ask why you are trying to boot into recovery??
  5. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Hold down in the up positio (on the black square thing with gold color in middle on the slide out keyboard..directional pad?) then hold down the power.

    If you are stock, getting to the bootloader is different.

    dlwhtrose... only thing I could think of was that he was trying to flash sbf to get rooted.
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Or apply an update.

    You get it figured out? What are you trying to accomplish?

    More information will yield better answers! :)
  7. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm trying to apply the 2.2 update.
    Wife has identicle Droid.. we both got the notification that our phones would be updated when we powered off our phones. Hers updated, mine did not. I'm trying the manual update. Gets will boot into recovery without a problem.
    Mine WILL boot into safe mode. I will try the pad-up power now to see what It does.
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    It's possible for a stock phone to have a bad recovery image. If all else fails, you may have to flash SPRecovery on using RSD Lite. It's a mildly risky process, but if you do it you can install the update (for various reasons we recommend this file: http://androidoverdrive.com/pete/OEM/9046f5a3ec09.signed-voles-ota-45394.zip ) and the update will replace SPRecovery with the stock recovery image.
  9. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the zip file u mentioned a replacement for the 2.2 update that I was going to use? I saw it was nearly twice the size of the one I have. Would u still use the process if renaming to update.zip in the root of my SD card?

    I will search for this rsdlite to see if I'm up to it. My phone is only a couple months old and would think I could just exchange under warranty.
    I even tried to do a factory reset using the system memo and that would not work as well.

    Thank you for your help on this, I hope this gets my Droid updated.
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Exact same process, name it update.zip (the .zip is already provided so if you don't see it when you try to rename it you don't need it and if you do see it, don't delete it or type it back in). It's almost twice the size because it's twice as good an install! :)

    If you can't get into recovery, you could see if Verizon will update the phone for you, but most of the time they don't have the training, information, or gumption to do anything except hand you a new phone, so... yeah.
  11. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    My experience only... you want to fix it do it yourself (with help from folks like these here on the forum). You want a new phone, take it to Verizon cause they ain't fixing anything. I believe Verizon has decided moneywise, it's cheaper to replace the phone than to pay someone with enough knowledge at every Verizon store to fix things.
  12. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, finally found how to get everything and the file I needed. ESE_81.sbf is the SPRecovery version I used, and RSD Lite 4.5.7. RSD kinda recognizes the phone, having N/A in most fields. I try to apply the SPRecovery file and get a "Failed Flashing Process. Unable to retrieve initialization values........."

    I'm starting to think my phone is a complete Factory F*!K Up.

    Back to Verizon in the Morning, unless someone has a better idea.
  13. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Try using RSD Lite 4.6 It's what I use. Don't worry about the N/A lines. Only line one is gonna have anything in it.

    On DroidLife website there is a video you can watch the guy root his phone. Just pause it to keep up.
  14. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, 4.6 did it. Though it said it wasn't complete in RSD, the phone had rebooted so figured it was fine.

    Booted into recovery this time! Now I am re-downloading the 2.2 updated listed below and will go from there. Thanks you guys, a ton, for your help so far....
  15. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, downloaded the update, renamed to update.zip. copied to root of sdcard.
    booted phone into Recovery mode. (Notes patched by SirPsychoS
    Selected Install
    Selected Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated) <what ever that means

    Message Received:

    --Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0
    (No such file or directory)
    E:Can't mount SDCARD:update.zip
    Installation aborted.

    If I select :Choose ROM from SD card" I get:

    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0
    (No such file or directory)
    E:Can't mount /sdcard

    I re-downloaded the update a 2nd time
    I copied it to the sdcard 3 times, deleting original each time
    I even made a directory on the sdcard named /sdcard and put update into it, just in case.

    I tried to perform a simple Nandroid backup, and ge error
    ERROR: Nandroid exited with status 31

    Jeez, now what?
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  16. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    You need to select Install,
    Then select ALLOW update.zip
    Then select Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated)

    The file needs to be on the root of your sd card, dont put it in any folders or you wont be able to flash it.
  17. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Yes sir, just forgot one step in SPRecovery. Have to allow the update and then install the update.
  18. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried exactly:
    Boot to SPRecovery
    select install
    select allow update from update.zip
    select Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated)

    Same error message.

    Even went to mount options, and selected mount /sdcard and eventually allthe others. Same errors. This is driving me MAD!!

    Hacking satellite was easier than this. LOL.
  19. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    curious... for experimentation, download a ROM like BB or UD or Sapphire. Rename it to update.zip and try to install it. Then what happens?
  20. openminds
    Offline

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Downloading bugless beast 2.2, will let you know how it goes

    unless you have a better recommendation

Search tags for this page

how to enter bootloader huawei m865

,
how to fix huawie m865 wont boot into recovery
,
how to get into recovery mode on huawei m865
,
huawei ascend 2 won't boot
,
huawei ascend ii recovery mode
,

huawei ascend ii wont boot

,

huawei m865 boot loop

,
huawei m865 boot loop fix
,
huawei m865 recovery mode
,
huawei m865 won't boot in recovery mode
,

huawei m865 wont boot

,
huawei m865 wont go into recovery
,

m865 boot into recovery

,
my huawei ascend 2 wont boot into recovery mode
,
net 10 huawei android phone model h866c