Can't boot phone into recover

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by openminds, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. openminds

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I have searched on here for over an hour now. Every thread says boot into recover, but mine doesn't seem to do it.

    I hold down x and hold power button - White M comes up then shuts down - repeats

    I hold down x and tap power button - White M comes up then shuts down - repeats.

    What am I doing wrong, or what keep my phone from booting into recovery mode?

    Droid 2.1.1
     
  2. yamaha83

    yamaha83 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you rooted? if so you might have a bad flash of the recovery... you could use rom manager to flash to a diffrent recovery and then back to the recovery you wanna use to make sure you have a good install...
     
  3. openminds

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, should have mentioned, not rooted
    Most I've really done is install astro file mngr and LauncherPro.
     
  4. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,798
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +7
    If you are not rooted, may I ask why you are trying to boot into recovery??
     
  5. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Hold down in the up positio (on the black square thing with gold color in middle on the slide out keyboard..directional pad?) then hold down the power.

    If you are stock, getting to the bootloader is different.

    dlwhtrose... only thing I could think of was that he was trying to flash sbf to get rooted.
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Or apply an update.

    You get it figured out? What are you trying to accomplish?

    More information will yield better answers! :)
     
  7. openminds

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying to apply the 2.2 update.
    Wife has identicle Droid.. we both got the notification that our phones would be updated when we powered off our phones. Hers updated, mine did not. I'm trying the manual update. Gets will boot into recovery without a problem.
    Mine WILL boot into safe mode. I will try the pad-up power now to see what It does.
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    It's possible for a stock phone to have a bad recovery image. If all else fails, you may have to flash SPRecovery on using RSD Lite. It's a mildly risky process, but if you do it you can install the update (for various reasons we recommend this file: http://androidoverdrive.com/pete/OEM/9046f5a3ec09.signed-voles-ota-45394.zip ) and the update will replace SPRecovery with the stock recovery image.
     
  9. openminds

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the zip file u mentioned a replacement for the 2.2 update that I was going to use? I saw it was nearly twice the size of the one I have. Would u still use the process if renaming to update.zip in the root of my SD card?

    I will search for this rsdlite to see if I'm up to it. My phone is only a couple months old and would think I could just exchange under warranty.
    I even tried to do a factory reset using the system memo and that would not work as well.

    Thank you for your help on this, I hope this gets my Droid updated.
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Exact same process, name it update.zip (the .zip is already provided so if you don't see it when you try to rename it you don't need it and if you do see it, don't delete it or type it back in). It's almost twice the size because it's twice as good an install! :)

    If you can't get into recovery, you could see if Verizon will update the phone for you, but most of the time they don't have the training, information, or gumption to do anything except hand you a new phone, so... yeah.
     
  11. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    My experience only... you want to fix it do it yourself (with help from folks like these here on the forum). You want a new phone, take it to Verizon cause they ain't fixing anything. I believe Verizon has decided moneywise, it's cheaper to replace the phone than to pay someone with enough knowledge at every Verizon store to fix things.
     
  12. openminds

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, finally found how to get everything and the file I needed. ESE_81.sbf is the SPRecovery version I used, and RSD Lite 4.5.7. RSD kinda recognizes the phone, having N/A in most fields. I try to apply the SPRecovery file and get a "Failed Flashing Process. Unable to retrieve initialization values........."

    I'm starting to think my phone is a complete Factory F*!K Up.

    Back to Verizon in the Morning, unless someone has a better idea.
     
  13. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Try using RSD Lite 4.6 It's what I use. Don't worry about the N/A lines. Only line one is gonna have anything in it.

    On DroidLife website there is a video you can watch the guy root his phone. Just pause it to keep up.
     
  14. openminds

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, 4.6 did it. Though it said it wasn't complete in RSD, the phone had rebooted so figured it was fine.

    Booted into recovery this time! Now I am re-downloading the 2.2 updated listed below and will go from there. Thanks you guys, a ton, for your help so far....
     
  15. openminds

    openminds New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, downloaded the update, renamed to update.zip. copied to root of sdcard.
    booted phone into Recovery mode. (Notes patched by SirPsychoS
    Selected Install
    Selected Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated) <what ever that means

    Message Received:

    --Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0
    (No such file or directory)
    E:Can't mount SDCARD:update.zip
    Installation aborted.

    If I select :Choose ROM from SD card" I get:

    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0
    (No such file or directory)
    E:Can't mount /sdcard

    I re-downloaded the update a 2nd time
    I copied it to the sdcard 3 times, deleting original each time
    I even made a directory on the sdcard named /sdcard and put update into it, just in case.

    I tried to perform a simple Nandroid backup, and ge error
    ERROR: Nandroid exited with status 31

    Jeez, now what?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
Search tags for this page
how to boot into recovery ascend 2
,

how to enter bootloader huawei m865

,
how to fix huawie m865 wont boot into recovery
,
huawei ascend ii recovery mode
,

huawei ascend ii wont boot

,

huawei m865 boot loop

,
huawei m865 recovery mode
,

huawei m865 wont boot

,

m865 boot into recovery

,
recovery for huawei m865