Can't boot past the Motorola M. HELP please!

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by ogdroid.....bricked, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. ogdroid.....bricked
    Offline

    ogdroid.....bricked Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted a few days ago using soup or root 2.06, and today tried loading a room with clockwork. I can still get to bootloaded everything checks out there. I can also still get into recovery but my backup is gone. What should I try next? any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

    I have also recently tried re installing the update.zip onto sd and its still going on as update.zip.zip

    This is def. a learning experience.

    I am running out of options, anyone know where i can find files that originally came on the SD somehow they have been completely wiped. Is there a way to fix this or is it a lost cause?
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  2. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't boot past the Motorola M

    I rooted my Droid using Soup or Root. I have superuser privileges but I cant boot into a different ROM. Every time I download a ROM it will get stuck at the M boot screen. Can anybody shed some light on my situation. The whole point of rooting is to be able to change ROMs and I cant. HELP!!!
  3. ogdroid.....bricked
    Offline

    ogdroid.....bricked Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you saying I need to rename the rom I downloaded to update.zip and this should solve my M loop prblem?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Renaming the downloaded file name did not fix the problem. I'm still stuck at the M bootloading screen. Are there any other suggestions?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +193
    You said you were using clockwork recovery. You don't need to rename ROMs with clockwork. Just leave them as is. You may have had a bad download. Try a different ROM. Also, are you wiping data and cache before installing?

    Sent from somewhere...
  7. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried different ROMs and the results are the same. I did not have this issue before I upgraded to FRG22D 2.2. Yes, I have been wiping data & cache.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Tyrone are you using RM or SPR?
  9. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im using RM

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Just checking do you have the premium version of RM?

    When you download a rom are you using wifi? If not, can you?

    Do the downloads appear to complete?
  11. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have the premium version. I always use wifi and the downloads are complete. Before upgrading to 2.2 I did not have this issue. I was using Easy Root to root my droid. After the upgrade I could not use Easy Root and I started using Soup & Root. Since then I've been having this problem.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    If you have a hard time with the second one let us know. We'll try to help. :) Good luck!
  14. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you get your issues resolved Tyrone?
  15. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe my issue has been resolved. After rerooting my droid I was able to install Bugless Beast ROM when I could not before. Thank you very much for your help.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App