1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't boot past the Motorola M. HELP please!

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by ogdroid.....bricked, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. ogdroid.....bricked
    Offline

    ogdroid.....bricked New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted a few days ago using soup or root 2.06, and today tried loading a room with clockwork. I can still get to bootloaded everything checks out there. I can also still get into recovery but my backup is gone. What should I try next? any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

    I have also recently tried re installing the update.zip onto sd and its still going on as update.zip.zip

    This is def. a learning experience.

    I am running out of options, anyone know where i can find files that originally came on the SD somehow they have been completely wiped. Is there a way to fix this or is it a lost cause?
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  2. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't boot past the Motorola M

    I rooted my Droid using Soup or Root. I have superuser privileges but I cant boot into a different ROM. Every time I download a ROM it will get stuck at the M boot screen. Can anybody shed some light on my situation. The whole point of rooting is to be able to change ROMs and I cant. HELP!!!
  3. ogdroid.....bricked
    Offline

    ogdroid.....bricked New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you saying I need to rename the rom I downloaded to update.zip and this should solve my M loop prblem?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Renaming the downloaded file name did not fix the problem. I'm still stuck at the M bootloading screen. Are there any other suggestions?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. jstafford1
    Online

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    You said you were using clockwork recovery. You don't need to rename ROMs with clockwork. Just leave them as is. You may have had a bad download. Try a different ROM. Also, are you wiping data and cache before installing?

    Sent from somewhere...
  7. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried different ROMs and the results are the same. I did not have this issue before I upgraded to FRG22D 2.2. Yes, I have been wiping data & cache.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Tyrone are you using RM or SPR?
  9. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im using RM

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Just checking do you have the premium version of RM?

    When you download a rom are you using wifi? If not, can you?

    Do the downloads appear to complete?
  11. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do have the premium version. I always use wifi and the downloads are complete. Before upgrading to 2.2 I did not have this issue. I was using Easy Root to root my droid. After the upgrade I could not use Easy Root and I started using Soup & Root. Since then I've been having this problem.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    If you have a hard time with the second one let us know. We'll try to help. :) Good luck!
  14. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Did you get your issues resolved Tyrone?
  15. Tyrone30
    Offline

    Tyrone30 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe my issue has been resolved. After rerooting my droid I was able to install Bugless Beast ROM when I could not before. Thank you very much for your help.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  16. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Great! Glad you were able to get you phone working.

    Mike
  17. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Excellent, glad you're up and running :)
  18. christopherdidi
    Offline

    christopherdidi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    will you guys help me my droid is stuck in M
  19. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'll try. Can you please tell me what you did that caused you to get stuck at the M.

    Mike
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes, Please tell us what you were trying to do, what you did do, and what phone you have. :)