Can't boot into Clockwork on DX

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by joshrodriguez, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. joshrodriguez
    Offline

    joshrodriguez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Beyond frustrated, finally taking the plunge and using a different ROM on my DX after doing a ton on my D1. So I decided to download ROM manager and flash clockwork, however, everything I have tried will not boot me into the clockwork recovery. Does anybody know anything I can try to get me into clockwork? I've flashed a bunch of times, tried it manually, did the reboot to clockwork, reinstalled the program and tried it again. Won't work for me...
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I am pretty sure you need bootstrap to boot into clockwork.
  3. joshrodriguez
    Offline

    joshrodriguez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought you just needed root, ROM manager and clockwork flashed to boot into clockwork. I have all that today, but cant boot into clockwork!
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    No because you need to trick it into bypassing the stock recovery because of the encryption (or something ).

    Pretty sure you need koush's bootstrapper.

    Sent from MetiCk/DavrosModded A855
  5. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Can I please recommend not using ROM Manager for any ROM installations? And yes, must have Bootstrap Recovery for DX. Get app, open, click top button and when it says "success" hit ok. Then hit the button under it and it will boot into CW.

    //Tap'd on CM8's DX w/DF app\\
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Thanks chkmate for verifying.