1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Cant backup and load roms with rom manager

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by vic1389, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. vic1389
    Offline

    vic1389 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So im on 3.340 rooted and have rom manager but when I try to download rom and install it reboots and when it begins to download I get an exclamation mark with the android and my phone reboots like normal...anyone help me out please
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need the bootstrap app from the market

    DroidForums junkie!!
  3. vic1389
    Offline

    vic1389 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just downloaded it then Wut do I do

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You have to run it and press the Bootstrap Recovery button. This will install CW recovery.
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open it and run it. Priority #1 is to make a backup! Spaz33g will most likely show up here in a few...

    DroidForums junkie!!
  6. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This guy too!



    DroidForums junkie!!
  7. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You will run the program. Then Boot into recovery and make a backup. It is very important, to have a backup of the stock OS. It helps save headaches later if you run into problems.

    You have rom manager so I believe that you can make a backup through that. I dont use rom manager so I am not too sure.
  8. vic1389
    Offline

    vic1389 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alrite I installed the cw recovery and will do that...after that do I install the rom manually or thru the rom manager?

    Sent from my DROIDX
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Do it manually in cm recovery.

    tappin and a talkin
  10. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You can do either. I've always done it manually though.
  11. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    First Make A Backup!
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Also, a little piece of advice, boot in to recovery and make a backup and then reboot the phone and check to see that the backup is on the sd card. Then boot back in to recovery to flash the rom. I helped a guy out once who thought he did the backup right but accidentally backed up the rom'd phone and not the stock one, which led to him having to sbf down the road.

    tappin and a talkin
  13. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'd think Koush would've came up with an easier way to boot to CW by now! Oh well!



    DroidForums junkie!!
  14. vic1389
    Offline

    vic1389 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alrite thx for the info...update see Wut happens

    Sent from my DROIDX
  15. vic1389
    Offline

    vic1389 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I did the backup and tried installing the rom thru rom manager and that failed again did the same thing...im gnna try it manually now

    Sent from my DROIDX
  16. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Make sure you follow all directions carefully. Good luck .

    tappin and a talkin
  17. vic1389
    Offline

    vic1389 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All it says to do is wipe data and cache...or Wut other directions should I follow?

    Sent from my DROIDX
  18. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Whatever directions appear in the original thread for the rom you are flashing.

    tappin and a talkin
  19. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You want to wipe data and cache before installing the Rom. then you can continue and install the rom.
    BTW what rom are you installing?
  20. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Also I think most will require you to mount system ya?

    tappin and a talkin
Search tags for this page

droid x rom backup

,

rommanager not loading

,

www.rommanmanger.com