Can't back-up data into PC

Discussion in 'LG G3' started by speedbird2, Mar 23, 2015.

  1. speedbird2

    speedbird2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unlike my old iPhone, in which I just connect a USB cable from phone to PC, the iPhone starts a back-up and sync, when connecting my Android LG G3, no back-up occurs; what am I forgetting?
     
  2. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +464
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    Android does not backup like that. Some manufactures like Samsung have software (Kies) that will do it. I am not sure if LG does.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Even if LG doesn't, I believe there are third party options available. I'm not sure what any of them are called though.

    What exactly do you want to backup & sync? Pics, messages, etc?

    And are you looking for a one-way sync? Ie do you just want content created on the phone (pictures you've taken) to sync/backup to the PC, or do you want the PC to sync certain files (music?) to the phone as well?

    Sent from my Note 4 via Tapatalk
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    There are options, (apps) available for both backing up, selectively, and syncing some items if we could get more info.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +464
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    There are indeed many options available.

    One I have heard great things about is Helium. ClockwordMod has a few useful apps for rooted devices, but you do not need root for Helium. There is a free app and a paid app. I would try the free version to see if you like it and pay for it if you plan to continue to use it.

    ClockworkMod Carbon

    I forget why, but the app used to be called Carbon but the name was changed.

    The app can be found Helium - App Sync and Backup - Android Apps on Google Play
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    I think Carbon was infringing on Carbonite, hence Helium. Just another element. ;)
     
  7. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +464
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    Oh I get the name, I just wasn't sure about why it changed. Witty.
     
  8. scottysize

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    Ratings:
    +141
    Sorry Speedy. It's not an iPhone. I have heard that Android is coming out with a way of doing that, but I don't know any specifics.
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    Some time ago a teardown of the Play Store APK indicated that Google had plans to include backing up the system but I haven't heard anything else about it since.
     
  10. legalkill

    legalkill Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kennesaw
    Ratings:
    +78
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z Force
    Lg has backup built-in, its not auto, and not direct to pc. Under settings, backup and reset, lg backup
     
  11. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    The problem is that it isn't backing up that much. Mostly settings, a list of installed apps and WiFi passwords.