Can't "ADD" Widgets

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Noreply, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. Noreply

    Noreply New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just got the Droid... Downloaded & installed some popular widgets. Can see them in the "Manage applications" menu. However, whe trying to add the widgets, the "ADD" button is not active when I press the main menu button. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. sir

    sir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +2
    so when you touch and hold an open area of the home screen, and the menu comes up, and you select "Widgets" and you choose one from the list, it doesn't add to your home screen?
     
  3. Twoo

    Twoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's either you don't have the available space on the homescreen or you're doing it wrong.

    Move a couple icons and free up half the screen (for your first time doing this to understand it), press and hold on your home screen and it should vibrate and open up a sub menu, click widgets, select one and poof- you're done.
     
  4. Noreply

    Noreply New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you Twoo, that was it! Freed space and added widgets.
     
  5. Twoo

    Twoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem =)
     
  6. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Seems like there is a lot of wasted space between icons/widgets.....
     
  7. Donkey Hodie

    Donkey Hodie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I agree. It'd be nice if it would jam them in more or if there was a way to configure icon size on a per app. basis.
     
  8. Twoo

    Twoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon told me Motorola did this on purpose for the initial launch. This was their "safe touch screen phone". A lot of people dislike touch screen because they have fat fingers, etc, etc- thus the implication of the slide out qwery.

    The icons on the other hand were specifically spaced out to keep a person from incorrectly touching the wrong application. The motorola rep that did the training told them they they are looking in to implementing a sliding bar that would change how many icons you can have on the home screens. Thus essentially making it more customizable if you have fat fingers or just want more icons.

    =)
     
  9. Donkey Hodie

    Donkey Hodie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That'd be way cool! Hopefully they'll do more than "look into it" or someone will develop an app. that does it.
     
Search tags for this page

android can't add widgets

,

can't add widgets android

,
can't load widgets on a droid razr
,
can't place widget on moto x homescreen
,
cannot add widget android 4.2.2
,
droid app in manage apps but cannot add
,
droid bionic cant add widget
,
i cant keep my widget on the main page
,
menu button on droid bionic doesn't show the add screen
,
why cant i open any of my widgets on droid