Cannot uninstall Smoked Glass - Help Please!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mjk, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. mjk
    Offline

    mjk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    I posted this in the main Smoked Glass thread, but it's moving along pretty good and got buried.

    I can't seem to uninstall Smoked Glass 5.0 from my Droid. I have tried going to my backup and a complete wipe and it keeps coming back. Any help would be appreciated.

    Here is what I posted in the other thread:

  2. mjk
    Offline

    mjk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    After I tried to wipe this happened:

  3. SG181
    Offline

    SG181 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you make a recovery in nandroid before installing, or are did you just rely on the built-in recovery in 5.0? Is it possible that you flashed it twice, and you're restoring to the recovery that was made when Smoked Glass was already installed?

    I have a backup that I made manually before I installed SG for the first time, and I've been able to return to it repeatedly without a problem.
  4. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    see option 3, in my signature, then reroot and try to recover.
  5. mjk
    Offline

    mjk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    I relied on the built in recover.
  6. mjk
    Offline

    mjk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    Reading through #3 now. Thanks.
  7. SG181
    Offline

    SG181 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you try to recover, do you have multiple backups, or just one?
  8. mjk
    Offline

    mjk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    I am holding X while powering on. First screen is SPRecovery options and I pick backup/restore. If I choose advanced backup it gives me the option of:
    restore boot, cache, data, misc, recovery, system. But it doesn't give me multiple backups to choose from.
  9. SG181
    Offline

    SG181 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are trying to recover, you should be going to Advanced Restore, not Advanced Backup. From there, select "Choose Backup", and it should give you a list of previously made backups to restore from. Advanced Backup allows you to make backups, Advanced Restore allows you to restore from said backups.
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    This part confused me when installing SG4.5
    I had to go to backup to choose the rom and then "restore" it to flash it. I expected to be able to "restore" and choose from a list there, not have to go to "backup" choose the name and then restore. Much easier installing 5.0
  11. mjk
    Offline

    mjk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    HA! Choosing restore did it. I had about 5 backups to choose from!! Thanks all!!
  12. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Just in case someone stumbles upon this thread that doesn't have a good recovery, grab DroidMod's DMupdater... DroidMod v1.0 is out - DroidMod It has a SUPER easy option for returning to stock!