Cannot Get droid 1 into Diagnostic mode...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by thatguysstuff, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all.. im trying to fix the internet and mms on my Motorola Droid 1 flash for metro pcs...

    it was working fine then just stopped being able to get mms and internet.

    I saw another thread on here on how to fix it..

    But.. I cannot get my phone to boot into Diagnostic mode.. By taking the battery out.. then holding the T button when Turning the phone on..

    Nothing else happens the phone just boots like normal.. :icon_evil:

    is it supposed to tell me its in Diagnostic mode?


    tried to get it to be seen by HWVS but no luck..

    I can boot by holding X and get into a hacked recovery menu.. And hold the Right button. to get into a boot loader menu...


    Im stuck does anyone know what to do with it? I want to get my MMS and internet working again on my Droid..

    Or im just going to go back to a Lame Metro PCS Black Berry so it will actually work...
  2. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing??? Dam... Looks like im just gonna turn the phone back to stock verizon and sell it..
  3. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I've never heard of diagnostic mode. Sorry.

    -Droid Does
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No idea... the guy is saying to Hold down T when turning the phone on.....

    What would that make the phone do?
  6. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The instructions I found say the process is:

    Pull battery
    Replace battery
    Hold "T"
    Plug phone in to PC
    Wait for phone to boot into Diagnostic Mode
  8. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ how do you know if the phone is in Diagnostic mode?? I have tried it tons of times.. with it plugged into the computer and nothing new happens.. Still HWVS cant see it...
  9. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried everything... I cannot get the phone seen by HW virtual serial port...


    I give up...... :(
  10. cabagekiller
    Offline

    cabagekiller New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They mean bootloader mode not diagnosis mode.
  11. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can get into a boot loader mode by holding the up button and turning the phone on... I will try that in a min... let me see...
  12. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep got into a boot loader It says battery ok.. connect USB cable. I do so.. . Computer sees it as a motorola Flash interface...

    But still cant get HW virtual serial port to see it??
  13. CellZealot
    Offline

    CellZealot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No "they" don't. Diagnostic mode on Droid loads a special Motorola Networking driver that will assign the phone an IP on the local network. Then you can set a virtual COM assignment for the USB modem to be recognized for service programming and NV access.

    When you boot holding the "T" key(no battery pull needed), USB debugging will not work, but nothing else shows on the phone.
  14. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ every time I try that.. it still shows up USB debugging...

    See my phones problem is if I turn it off it reboots almost instantly... it will not stay off without me removing the battery...

    do you boot.. . Hold "T" for how long? my phone looks like it boots almost 4 times even when just turning it on normal..

    Will the computer say something? Like what the device is?

    Sorry for the stack of questions. But this phone is driving me nuts. :(
  15. CellZealot
    Offline

    CellZealot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe this will help.
    Sorry for the image size but I needed to have it full screen to show all the apps open on the desktop.

    Open Command prompt after booting with T key and type "ipconfig /all" no quotes.
    Then open HVSP and set it up like the screenshot but use a higher COM port so you know it's not used by any other devices.

    This happens to be with a DX but it's all the same for D1 except the D2/DX load the Motorola Networking driver automatically without a key press and reboot.


    [​IMG]
  16. thatguysstuff
    Offline

    thatguysstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope... Still doesnt work.. ive tried everything.. I cannot boot the phone without the SD card in it.. It wont stop rebooting..

    ive tryed all the steps everyone has said.. It just will not work... why the hell does this phone boot 3 times before staying on???

    the first boot the computer tells me it has detected the phone.. I can ip config and see something is there.. then the phone reboots and its gone again..

    then the phone does a boot loop for 3 times then its on...

    still cannot connect to it at all.... Computer sees it there.. Just cant do anything with any of the programs..


    this is the worst phone I have ever tried working on.. im about to just restore it and sell it to some one and buy a black berry that always works.. unlike this phone..


    Thanks for the help guys.. But seems I have one that just will not work... No idea why...
Search tags for this page

droid 1 diag mode

,

droid 1 diagnostic mode

,
droid 1 dm mode
,
droid diagnostic mode
,
droid maxx pc mode or diag mode
,
droid razr maxx hd diag mode how to
,
droid x2 how to boot into diag
,
how to get into diag mode on droid 1
,
how to get into diagnostic mode on droid x2
,
how to get verizon phones into diagnostic mode
,
metro android phones diag mode
,
set motorola droid a855 to pc mode