Cannot connect to Wi-Fi at home

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by mca19580, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. mca19580

    mca19580 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon says they can't help....Geek Squad says its Verizons fault...
    I'm using all of my data...help:mad:
     
  2. doniago

    doniago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Ratings:
    +8
    What device are you using to try to connect to wi-fi, and what kind of wi-fi router do you have? What exactly happens when you try to connect? Can you provide screenshots? The more info you can provide the better.
     
  3. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +499
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Welcome aboard!

    Some phones cannot connect to older routers - look at your phone spec's vs the output of your router (wifi G, N, etc)...
     
  4. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    923
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +937
    Welcome to the forum...share more info and hopefully we can help
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,137
    Likes Received:
    497
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +507
    Welcome aboard

    Were they not able to connect to WiFi at Best Buy? Have you tried another public hotspot?
     
  6. mca19580

    mca19580 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Droid. Spent 2 hours on the phone with Verizon Wireless....a waste of my time. Went to Best Buy...Geek Squad was equally useless. Stuck unable to connect to my own home wi-fi, causing me to have to use data to go online, which is ridiculous. I pay for two phones an now am afraid to use the phone for anything more than e-mail or texts for fear of going over my data limit. Under normal circumstances, both of us together come nowhere near our 2 gig limit.
    The phone keeps saying 'connecting' but is not. This didn't start until I took the updates on my phone.
     
  7. rustydog

    rustydog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    SW Pa / Avon Park, Fl in winter
    Ratings:
    +19
    You didn't answer the question on being able to connect to another router (Best Buy). Does either phone connect to your router? Is your router secured? Does anything connect to your router via wiFi? Your phone may be connected to your router but the router may not be connected to your internet. Connected only means your phone is talking with your router. Complaining here will not resolve your problem.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
  8. mca19580

    mca19580 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was able to connect fine on Best Buy's wi-fi, but when I get home the 3G and 4G on my phone are blue (not white) which they tell me is using data. I have a Verizon GT704WG wireless router. My laptops and Kindle are fine.
    Spent hours with Verizon reconfiguring my internet but the phones still won't connect. I'm not tech savvy like all of you. However, Verizon Wireless and the Geek Squad are supposed to be but neither of them can figure it out.
     
  9. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,750
    Likes Received:
    802
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +826
    Try an app called Wi-Fi Fixer. It's free and might solve the issue. If you need help with it post back and someone will walk you through it.
    If that doesn't work,I'm going to ask you some questions you might have already gone through because you're not being very descriptive in what you've already tried.
    1) Have you done "forget network" of your home router? If not do that then put it back like when the phone was new. To do that go to phone settings, Wi-Fi , tap the Wi-Fi icon, long press the network at your home, tap forget. Tap home button. Go back to settings, tap Wi-Fi icon, tap add network, if it doesn't show back up on its own, or tap the your home network, tap input your "network key" (aka password).
    2) Have you double checked to make sure you put your password into your network exactly correctly? The phone will not give a warning that it's the wrong password, it'll only just not connect.
    3) Have you already changed the security on your router while working with anyone at tech support. If so do you know what you changed it to?
    4) Have you tried any other secure network, such as at a friends house or work? Best Buy is an open, unsecured network, so basically anything will connect without any effort other than tapping CONNECT.
    There are some routers out there, Verizon uses Belkin brand often, that just don't play nice with Android BUT since your Fire is already working fine I am not convinced it's an incompatibility issue yet.
    Before you do any of the above steps beyond installing Wi-Fi fixer turn off your mobile network. Settings, mobile network, tap the icon.



    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    Notetoo
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  10. SFGate

    SFGate Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the site. Hope you were able to resolve this. DancingNexus
     
  11. mca19580

    mca19580 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, I'm not tech savvy like most people on here, so forgive me if I don't immediately pick up what you're telling me.
    1) I have tried forget network many times. No luck. I re-enter the password and it still won't connect.
    2) The password is correct. I checked the box so I can see exactly what I'm entering to make sure that it's correct.
    3) I don't think that we changed the security on the router but do still see an old Linksys router showing up on the home network on one of our computers. When Verizon reconfigured my internet, they probably should've asked me to turn all of my devices on. I don't know of this could be our problem.
    4) When you ask if I've tried any other secure network, do you mean actually entering their WEP key or access code on my phone? I only have one other access code (at work) and I've only used it to get online with my Kindle.
    Maybe this is the issue and reason that Wi-Fi fixer cannot fix. I think the Verizon tech support people may have messed me up.

    Mark
     
  12. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,137
    Likes Received:
    497
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +507
    You last post brings up a question. Are you in fact using WEP. That could be a problem. Do you have enough control over the router to change it to WPA/WPA2 - TKIP?
     
  13. mca19580

    mca19580 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't know how to do that. I currently have WEP, which I understand is not as strong as WPA or WPA2.
     
  14. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,137
    Likes Received:
    497
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +507
    You're correct, WEP is weak and doesn't work well with some devices. You may want to do a search using your router model and the words wireless security so that you can access the router directly. It may be at 192.168.1.1 or something close. Use a browser to access it but the password may be admin or that could be both the PW and name or something else if it's still relatively stock.
     
Search tags for this page

gt704wg wifi android

,

lg mach 1 won't connect to wifi

,

lg mach can't connect to wifi

,

lg mach constantly trying to connect to wifi