Cannot connect to Google servers

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by LordSnooty, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. LordSnooty

    LordSnooty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    This is on a DNA.

    At some time in the past I had disabled the Google Play Store. Now I re-enabled it. When clicking the Play Store icon, it asks if I want to use a new or existing account. I enter my existing info. Then a message displays:

    "Couldn't sign in
    There was a problem communicating with Google servers.
    Try again later"

    This has been going on for several days now.

    I've googled the problem but couldn't find a satisfactory solution.

    Has anyone any suggestions?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,450
    Likes Received:
    3,848
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,122
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Hmm.... Clear data and cache on app and reboot phone... See if it let's ya get in after reboot..

    Tap'd by Big 6
     
  3. LordSnooty

    LordSnooty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for the reply bk.

    I went to the App Manager and the Play Store wasn't there.

    I'll wait for a suggestion before i do anything else.
     
  4. droidprincess

    droidprincess Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9,474
    Likes Received:
    3,864
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    La Grange, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Iphone 7 Plus
    Twitter:
    droidprincesstx
    Were you looking under downloaded apps? It is a pre-installed app try looking under all apps....I am not familiar with the DNA menus

    sent from my sexy Note 4
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,450
    Likes Received:
    3,848
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,122
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Correct on the under all tab... When you find it tell us what version playstore you running

    Tap'd by Big 6
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. LordSnooty

    LordSnooty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    Good thinking Princess and DF.

    Yes, the app was located under "All". (Didn't notice the column headings)

    Version: 4.8.20

    PS I cleared the Data, Cache was inactive. "Rebooted" but still no joy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,450
    Likes Received:
    3,848
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,122
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
  8. LordSnooty

    LordSnooty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    BK,
    Thanks for the suggestion.
    I've just completed a full-on reset and the Google Store is now working.
    Cheers!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Glad you got it resolved..
     
  10. LordSnooty

    LordSnooty New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    Jeff,
    Yeah, thanks.
    I got miffed a while back when Verizon added some extra charges for data usage so I disabled a bunch of stuff on the phone.
    In theory, I should have been able to just re-enable but you know how that goes.
    Cheers!
     
  11. droidprincess

    droidprincess Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9,474
    Likes Received:
    3,864
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    La Grange, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Iphone 7 Plus
    Twitter:
    droidprincesstx
    Glad you got it resolved!

    sent from my sexy Note 4
     
  12. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,474
    Likes Received:
    7,054
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,396
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    It's possible that you still had something disabled that would've allowed you to connect to the servers. Doing a full on reset likely worked because it re-enabled everything that you disabled.

    So, if you're still concerned about data, you might want to disable SOME things, but if you're unsure of what something does, it's always a good idea to leave it alone or ask around on here to find out more.

    In any case, glad you're up and running again!
     
    • Like Like x 2
Search tags for this page
cannot connect to google servers
,
play store problem communicating with google servers
,
problem communicating with google servers
,

problem connecting to google servers

,

there was a problem communicating with google servers

,
there was a problem communicating with google servers android
,
there was a problem communicating with google servers fix
,

there was a problem communicating with google servers play store

,
there was a problem communicating with google servers please try again later
,
there was problem communicating with google servers