Cannot Boot into Recovery-- d1

Discussion in 'Koush' started by collinjm01, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. collinjm01

    collinjm01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    running cyanogen mod 6.0 and i cant boot into recovery. I read on Droid Inc. to flash recovery. will this fix on D1? and also refresh my memory can i use to ROM Man. to flash spr then back to clockwork?
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    How did you install CM 6 without a recovery? Yes, ROM Manager will allow you to do that...though I prefer SPR personally.

    DroidForums junkie!
     
  3. collinjm01

    collinjm01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    i mean i have Clockwork recovery, and i used ROM manager to install Cyanogen, but now i cant boot back into recovery. using rom manager, it goes to the motorola logo sits a minute then reboots back to the motorola logo then loads up cyanogen
     
  4. collinjm01

    collinjm01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so i flashed SPR and then back to clockwork recovery and it still doesnt boot into recovery...
     
  5. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Have you tried to boot to recovery manually (power up while holding x)? What are you trying to do exactly?

    DroidForums junkie!
     
  6. collinjm01

    collinjm01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i just tryed it. didnt work, still just loads up cyanogenmod. Im tryin to boot into recovery to install the new MIUI Rom.
     
  7. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    It let You flash SPR? Could you boot into that recovery?

    DroidForums junkie!
     
  8. collinjm01

    collinjm01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    shoulda tried it, let me re flash spr and try to boot into recovery...
     
  9. collinjm01

    collinjm01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay so i am in spr recovery. should i back up and then reboot like normal?
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I would but I'm very cautious.
     
  11. collinjm01

    collinjm01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for all your help, but i got it working, im now in clockwork now! :) I feel loads better! thanks for your time :)
     
  12. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Yes, ALWAYS make a backup before installing anything so you always have it to go back to. The difference with SPR is that you need to manually move each file from download to the SD card root with a file manager (Astro, Androzip, Root Explorer, etc) and rename it to "update.zip" before installing. Its really easy though its a couple more steps involved. I have never once had an issue using this method though.



    DroidForums junkie!
     
  13. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Being curious -- how did you get CW working? If flashing between SPR and CW do not work restoring an older version of CW seems to resolve.
     
  14. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    +1 For SPRecovery. It has never left me down either.
     
  15. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    So am I!



    DroidForums junkie!
     
Search tags for this page
ascend d1 cannot boot to recovery
,

boot d1 into recovery

,
how to boot into recovery on d1
,
how to load the d1 into recovery