Cancel agreement to "Use enhanced location service"

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by DanielFFF, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. DanielFFF

    DanielFFF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gerroa, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't want to "Agree" to Google's "Use enhanced location service", but yesterday (after turning on 'Location') I accidentally clicked Agree, and now I want to undo that. How do reverse my agreement?
    (Galaxy S4; Kitkat 4.4.2)
    Daniel
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Pull down your status bar, tap the icon at the top, tap the gear, go to location, tap where it says mode High Accuracy and choose another.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    #2 FoxKat, Feb 24, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  3. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    Who's Phil ? ;);)
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  4. DanielFFF

    DanielFFF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gerroa, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks FoxKat, but that only disables enhanced location till the next time I turn on Location.

    And It's not so much that I don't want to use enhanced location services, it's that I don't want Google to use them to track my location. What I was disagreeing to is Google using my enhanced location, not the enhanced method per se.

    I notice from searching the web that some phones have a 'Location Reporting' menu option that you can enable/disable, but my phone doesn't have that menu item; only 'Location History'. I've disabled that, but I don't know if it also disables Location Reporting.

    Daniel
     
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Phil is the guy who wanted you to "pull" down the status bar...

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    You can turn off location tracking in Google directly but it's a bit difficult to find.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  7. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Aren't you Phil?

    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4
    <><
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Yes I am...

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    I thought that was supposed to be a secret. ;)
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Oops!

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  11. DanielFFF

    DanielFFF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gerroa, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks to everyone here who tried to help. With the help of a member on Stack Exchange, I found the answer (my S4 is rooted):
    -----
    If you have root access, edit this file:
    data > data > com.google.android.gms > shared_prefs > nlp-prefs.xml

    Change the value of confirmNlp in the following line to true.
    <boolean name="confirmNlp" value="false" />

    Reboot phone.
     
  12. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    That's great information. Thanks for sharing. It's very fortunate that you can edit that by being rooted. If not rooted the only other option is a Factory Data Restore and just make sure not to agree the next time out.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

cancel agreement enhanced location